Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 15, 2011 / 11 Adar I, 5771

In Iran, Bahrain and Yemen, protesters take to streets --- but with different results

By Ramin Mostaghim and Kim Murphy






JewishWorldReview.com |

cEHRAN — (MCT) Street clashes broke out across the Persian Gulf region as demonstrators in Iran, Bahrain and Yemen sought to capitalize on the recent uprisings in Egypt and Tunisia and swept by the thousands into the streets, where they were met by riot police.

The tumult in a region normally kept tranquil under the heavy-handed security of conservative Gulf regimes underscored the widening reverberations of fledgling pro-democracy movements in the Middle East, though the protesters' numbers have been small in comparison to the demonstrations that brought down the government of Hosni Mubarak in Egypt last week.

Tehran's streets turned into a chaotic mass of broken glass, burning trash bins, rocks and tear gas as thousands of people marched Monday toward Azadi Square, some clashing along the way with riot police in the first major reformist demonstration since widespread protests over a tainted national election that in December 2009 that left eight people dead.

"Mubarak, Ben Ali, now it's time for Sayed Ali!" some protesters shouted, referring to the former presidents of Egypt and Tunisia and Iran's supreme leader, Ali Khamenei.

Though past street protests most often have featured slogans targeting President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad and his government, Monday's rally more often attacked the supreme leadership itself, the underpinning of the entire Islamic state that seized power in a revolution of its own just over three decades ago.

"It's very interesting to see that the revolution of Iran is being questioned by its own people, with people saying it didn't bring them anything significant," said Mahjoob Zweiri, an Iran expert and professor of contemporary history at Doha University in Qatar.

But he said it would be premature to assume that Iranian protesters are pushing to overturn the ruling Shiite Muslim theocracy. "They are against some of the policies, they are against the approach of the state. But so far, they are not calling for the fall of the regime," he said.

In Bahrain, a small island emirate on the Arab side of the Persian Gulf near Saudi Arabia, riot police attacked hundreds of demonstrators with tear gas, rubber bullets, concussion grenades and pellets, according to human rights observers. A member of parliament reported at least one protester dead and three injured. Yemen, meanwhile, was undergoing its fourth consecutive day of protests, with a reported 17 people wounded in two separate clashes between pro-reform demonstrators and pro-government activists, with riot police trying to stand between the two.

In Washington, Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton said the U.S. "clearly and directly" supports the protesters' aspirations in Iran. "What we see happening in Iran today is a testament to the courage of the Iranian people, and an indictment of the hypocrisy of the Iranian regime — a regime which over the last three weeks has constantly hailed what went on in Egypt," Clinton said.

Protests also reportedly broke out in the Iranian cities of Isfahan, Shiraz, Kermanshah and Rasht, and at least one person died in the clashes in Tehran, according to the Fars news agency.


FREE SUBSCRIPTION TO INFLUENTIAL NEWSLETTER

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". HUNDREDS of columnists and cartoonists regularly appear. Sign up for the daily update. It's free. Just click here.


Both major opposition leaders, Mehdi Karroubi and Hossein Mousavi, were held under virtual house arrest Monday, with their phones, cell phones and Internet service cut off.

In central Tehran, meanwhile, police shut down subway stations near Azadi Square and blocked off several streets, many of which turned into rock-throwing battle zones as protesters traded blows with pro-government Basij militiamen and pushed their way forward toward the square. Leading reformists are calling for the resignation of Ahmadinejad and abolishing clerical control of elections. Many of those in the streets have also been furious over tough economic conditions and the stifling of dissent; large numbers of journalists and intellectuals have been imprisoned, including at least 30 reportedly arrested on Feb. 8 in what opposition leaders said was an attempt to prevent Monday's rally.

"My father is pharmacist and we are not poor, but how can I bear a government which is not representing my ideals, and how I can keep away from the protests while my classmates are jailed for expressing themselves?" said Ehsan, a 24-year-old engineering student at Amirkabir University who feared retribution if she gave her last name.

"Today I was braving tear gas and batons on my head, but I am satisfied and have no more pangs of conscience," he said. "I have done what I could do, and was obliged to do."

Shahram, 23, a dentistry student, who also did not want to be fully identified, said he was with his friends throwing bricks and stones at the police when he was overcome with tear gas and passed out. Friends dragged him to safety inside a house, then all had to flee out a back door when militia members swept in looking for them.

"I was almost handcuffed, but my friends released me from the hands of the Basijis. We rushed out and ran and ran and ran, and caught a taxi and escaped from the scene," he said.

"Honestly speaking," he added, "when I joined the silent marchers today and witnessed the courage of young people thinner and poorer than me, I was ashamed of myself. I couldn't afford to be a coward."

In Bahrain, demonstrators were not demanding the collapse of the Sunni Muslim monarchy, which oversees a nation that is predominantly Shiite, but citizen access to a more participatory government. Their demands include a new constitution; an investigation into corruption, torture and purported attempts to suppress the Shiite majority by naturalizing new Sunni citizens; and release of up to 500 political prisoners, many of them under the age of 18.

King Hamad Bin Isa al-Khalifa responded last week with an offer of 1,000 dinars (about $2,650) to each family in the country. Maryam Alkhawaja of the Bahrain Center for Human Rights, who was at Monday's protests, said many see the offer as a slap in the face.

"Is that the price of our freedom? They think we're not going to go out and protest because we received 1,000 dinars?" she said.

At least 14 people reportedly were injured in clashes earlier in the day and on Sunday outside the capital, especially in the area of Karzakan, according to Reuters news agency.

Alkhawaja said she was in a car near a protest with a foreign journalist when a police officer skidded his car sideways to a halt in front of them. "He took out a gun, he pointed it, and shot it straight at us," she said.

A 28-year-old woman named Ebtihal, said she was with a group of protesters chanting, "With our blood and our souls, we will defend you, Bahrain," when police arrived and ordered them to disperse.

"We told them we are doing a peaceful gathering … but the police decided to attack. They started tear gas and rubber bullets. … One man, he was asking the police, 'Why are you attacking us, we are peacefully protesting?' and the policemen gathered and started beating him brutally."

Ebtihal said she felt she had little choice but to protest: Her brother went to jail for, among other things, publishing on his blog the names of police officers who had beaten citizens; now the whole family lives in fear of being arrested.

"Talking to a journalist or sending photos could send me to jail. In recent months they have arrested so many people just for expressing their opinions, communicating with the international media, or holding the images of the prisoners, that's being called a crime," she said. "I feel that there are so many reasons I cannot accept this. For the longest part of my life, and I am only 28, I have been living in fear."

In Yemen, demonstrators were attacked with broken bottles, daggers and rocks by several hundred government supporters, many waving Yemeni flags and photos of Ali Abdullah Saleh, Yemen's president for more than 30 years, who has promised to step down in 2013.

At Sanaa University, scene of one of the biggest protests, 22-year old student Omar Mukhtar held up a sign reading, "Thirty-three years of corruption, poverty, ignorance, and unemployment."

Fistfights broke out between rival groups at the university gate, with attendees on both sides menacingly brandishing jambiyyas, the traditional curved daggers, while security forces looked on passively.

Anti-government protesters claimed their assailants were plain-clothes police in the employ of the government.

"As long as the president has reigned, we have had more and more problems. We see what brotherly countries have done, and we have gained hope," Mukhtar said.

Back in Tehran, night fell and the streets were left littered with stones and broken glass. But from the darkened windows and stairwells of several midrise apartment buildings around the capital, an eerie chorus rose up.

"Allahu akbar," or "G0d is great," anonymous voices shouted into the night, and: "Death to dictators."

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Comment by clicking here.

© 2011, Los Angeles Times Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.