Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 24, 2011 / 20 Adar I, 5771

Readers pick their worst Oscar winners

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I thought I was the only one.

It turns out that I am not alone in believing that the best movie of the year doesn't always win the Oscar as the best motion picture of the year.

Last week's list of the 10 worst best pictures generated a huge response among readers, who were not shy about letting me know what they thought of my selections, as well as which movies they thought I forgot to include on my list.

Who knew you were so opinionated?

Here is a recap of last week's column:

I suggested that "Shakespeare in Love's" win over "Saving Private Ryan" was the greatest travesty in the history of Oscar voting. I then added the names of nine other films that I didn't believe should have won the best picture Oscar, including "The English Patient," "Chicago," "No Country for Old Men," "Oliver!," "Out of Africa," "Rain Man," "Driving Miss Daisy," "A Beautiful Mind" and "The Hurt Locker."

It is a testament to the power of movies that each of my selections inspired at least one reader to call me out for including it on a list of undeserving Oscar winners. I was called "dumb," "out of touch" and "idiotic," and that was just my family.

Many people agreed with my list, but other readers disagreed with all or some of my picks. Even "Shakespeare in Love" and "The English Patient" had its fair share of supporters, which still baffles me.

"Oliver!" drew the most supporters, many of whom regaled me with accounts of how much they loved that movie when they were kids. "Rain Man" apparently means a great deal to many people, while "The Hurt Locker" was evenly divided between people who loved and hated it. Some readers were passionate supporters of "No Country For Old Men," while detractors gave me a collective pat on the back.

Based on the response to that column, I have compiled a new list of movies that readers feel were not worthy of an Academy Award for best motion picture. They are in order, although I want to point out that a true list of readers' picks would include some films from the previous week. However, I don't want to repeat myself, so here are the 11 (there was a tie for 10th place) movies that you didn't think should have won.

By the way, some of you made what I considered to be outrageous suggestions for unworthy films. There were a few people who mentioned "Annie Hall" and "The Godfather, Part II," and I can't go along with that, even though the former beat out "Star Wars" (the "Citizen Kane" of Geekdom), and the latter deprived "Chinatown" and "The Conversation" of the prized statuette. Both are great films, but I'm not taking an Oscar away from "The Godfather, Part II."

The 83rd annual Academy Awards telecast is coming Feb. 27, and I suspect that the new best motion picture winner might end up on next year's list.

The clear favorite this year is "The King's Speech," which many people love. But I still think that "True Grit" should win, and judging from your correspondence this past week, many of you will be really annoyed if "Black Swan" or "The Social Network" gets turned down at the big dance.

I want to note that it was a real battle among the top four finishers of the readers' list of the worst best movies. There are people (like me) who really hold a grudge when it comes to the Oscars.

Unfortunately, the only votes that count are cast by the 5, 755 members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Here is your list, with each selection followed by the nominated films that were beaten for the Oscar that year:

1. "Crash": "Munich," "Brokeback Mountain," "Capote" and "Good Night, and Good Luck."

2. "The Greatest Show on Earth": "High Noon," "The Quiet Man," "Ivanhoe" and "Moulin Rouge."

3. "Ordinary People": "Raging Bull," "Coal Miner's Daughter," "The Elephant Man" and "Tess."

4. "Chariots of Fire": "Raiders of the Lost Ark," "Atlantic City," "Reds" and "On Golden Pond."

5. "Terms of Endearment": "The Right Stuff," "Big Chill," "The Dresser" and "Tender Mercies."

6. "Around the World in 80 Days": "The Ten Commandments," "The King and I," "Giant" and "Friendly Persuasion."

7. "Gigi": "Auntie Mame," "Cat on a Hot Tin Roof," "The Defiant Ones" and "Separate Tables."

8. "Kramer vs. Kramer": "Apocalypse Now," "All That Jazz," "Breaking Away" and "Norma Rae."

9. "How Green Was My Valley": There were 10 nominees, and these were the best of the pack: "Citizen Kane," "The Maltese Falcon," "Suspicion," "Sergeant York" and "The Little Foxes."

10. (tie) "Gandhi": "E.T.: The Extra-Terrestrial," "Missing," "Tootsie" and "The Verdict."

10. (tie) "Dances With Wolves": "Goodfellas," "Ghost," "Awakenings" and "Godfather III."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles