Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Is it not refreshing that Tiger Woods' career has crashed and burned so dramatically?

By Rabbi Yonason Goldson





Tiger, Tiger, Burning Bright

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Along with athletic prowess and screen presence, forgiveness is rapidly becoming a marketable commodity. Before much longer, the rich and famous may find themselves advised by their agents to commit acts of moral turpitude in order to schedule press conferences seeking public absolution.


Sexual indiscretion has become so much a part of our society that many wonder why the latest scandal surrounding Tiger Woods has generated more than a passing interest. After all, the peccadillos of former President Clinton, former vice-presidential candidate John Edwards, and former New York governor Elliot Spitzer — among many, many others — should have left us jaded to the culture of infidelity in which we live. We may find refreshing, therefore, that Tiger Woods' career has crashed and burned so dramatically. Apparently, many Americans still care about morality.


Ironically, the scandals not only continue but increase in frequency and magnitude. Given that fame and power seem the common-denominators in a litany of ruined families and careers, should we not expect that the powerful and the famous might learn from the failures of their predecessors? Assuming that an average amount of intelligence is required to attain public prominance, why are so few apparently able to avoid repeating the mistakes of others?


Perhaps the answer can be found by turning the clock back two and a half centuries. According to Jewish tradition, Rabbi Israel Ba'al Shem Tov, founder of the Chassidic movement, reported that before his birth, his soul was paired with another pure and righteous soul with whom he studied the secrets of Torah wisdom prior to being sent forth into the physical world. After birth, his pre-natal learning partner was blessed with anonymity, whereas he, the Ba'al Shem Tov, was "condemned to fame."


Few people today would consider anonymity a blessing or fame a curse. Then again, many celebrities do recognize the curse of fame, even if they continue to pursue it as a drug addict pursues his next fix.


Notoriety carries with it the public scrutiny of every word and action and the loss of a private life — a steep price to pay for the superficial rewards of fame. How much better to live a quiet existence and enjoy the genuine rewards of family, community, and a life lived well.


Jewish philosophy therefore stresses the importance of modesty. Commonly misunderstood as a precept applying to women's clothing with the intent of preventing sexual arousal in men, the Jewish concept of modesty is in truth a code of personal conduct designed to preserve personal privacy. In truth, the concept of modesty applies to both men and women, and it extends to all manner of public and private behavior far beyond either attire or sexuality.


The popular cliche "don't judge a book by its cover" accurately reflects the spirit of Jewish modesty. In our physical world, outward appearance often belies inner nature. To admire a great book for its cover is to miss its greatness entirely. Similarly, by valuing only the blandishments of material existence, by pursing the transient pleasure of physical indulgence at the expense of genuine relationships, we find ourselves relentlessly seeking a satisfaction that perpetually eludes us. By coveting the egoistic gratification of public adulation at the cost of inner meaning, we leave ourselves with only the most two-dimensional and unfulfilling rewards of a life half-lived.


The acceleration of technology has rendered us far more vulnerable to the curse of superficiality. The so-called information age has created the illusion that we are well-informed, when in fact we are so inundated by headlines that we rarely plumb the depth of any single story. Instant access to everything has left us impatient and unwilling to exert the effort to acquire anything that requires time and discipline. We don't want to work for what is truly valuable, so we value only that which demands little work.


At the same time, we can't escape the awareness that something profoundly important has been lost. And so we are no longer surprised when our heroes fail us. Beneath the surface, we don't expect anything more from them. Despite the virtue of forgiveness, however, our reluctance to forgive may be the most revealing symptom that there remains some small hope for our society. With privilege comes responsibility, and we feel passionately that those who shirk responsibility deserve to forfeit their privileges.


Perhaps enough such incidents will finally produce a much needed paradigm shift, returning us to our senses so that we reject the fantasy world of celebrity and the allure of power. A life of modesty focuses our attention on the rewards that come with a rich inner life of enduring values and true purpose, a life all the richer for its privacy, its quiet dignity, and the contentment that, once lost, can never be recaptured by making public apologies for having abused the narcotics of power and fame.

JewishWorldReview.com regularly publishes uplifting articles. Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Interested in a private Judaic studies instructor — for free? Let us know by clicking here.

Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Rabbi Yonason Goldson teaches at Block Yeshiva High School in St. Louis, MO, where he also writes and lectures. He is author of Dawn to Destiny: Exploring Jewish History and its Hidden Wisdom, an overview of Jewish philosophy and history from Creation through the compilation of the Talmud, now available from Judaica Press. Visit him at http://torahideals.wordpress.com .






© 2010, Rabbi Yonason Goldson