Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 16, 2010/ 2 Adar 5770

Needed: More Snow in D.C.

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Boy, do we need more snow in Washington, D.C.


You see, when it snows in Pittsburgh, my home town, or any town in the heartland, people pick up their shovels and clear their sidewalks and driveways.


We are invigorated by the crisp air and a good sweat — we are cheerful as we sip hot coffee and catch up with neighbors.


That's not how Washington reacts to snow.


I lived in the Washington region for nearly eight years. When the forecasters say an inch or two is on the way, panic sets in.


Powerful people shut down schools, cancel flights and order "non-essential" government employees — and that covers just about everybody — to stay home.


Last week in D.C., the snow fell so thick — the winds were so bitter cold — that even global warming conferences were canceled.


Activists, who tell us toilet paper and bottled water are bad for the environment, flocked to supermarkets to hoard toilet paper and bottled water.


Why such panic?


Because Washingtonians aren't used to reality.


In Washington, you see, a fellow can make a fine living by spewing bogus numbers and arguments to convince policymakers to write laws that favor the organizations he represents.


The government doesn't much care for reality, either. If it needs more money, it just borrows or prints more.


If politicians want to impose government-run health care on us, they simply contort their bill to produce estimates that have zero correlation to what the costs will turn out to be.


Some are so good at this game that they enjoy 30-year careers without ever approximating reality of any kind.


Unless snow falls.


Snow is real. It falls at its own whim. You can slip on it and hurt yourself. You can wreck your car in it.

Letter from JWR publisher


Commonsense people in the heartland don't complain much when snow comes.


We clear our sidewalks and driveways so the mailman won't fall.


We plan ahead. We outfit our cars with snow tires so we can get to work when the snow arrives.


We prepare for reality because we will suffer reality's consequences if we don't.


It's not like that in Washington — reality often has no consequences there.


Implement an ethanol-subsidies program that screws up markets and drives up the cost of food?


Oh, well. At least their intentions were good.


Pass the largest spending bill in history — one that has stimulated little, except our deficit and our debt?


Oh, well. Maybe they'd better pass another.


Run a massive deficit brought on by reckless spending?


Oh, well. They'll just print and borrow more dough so they can spend even more.


Such is "common sense" in Washington.


When record snows fall in the heartland, our first instinct is to do what we must to keep the snow from affecting our families' well-being.


When record snows fall in D.C., the Washingtonian's first instinct is to politicize and spin and tell us the snow is caused by global warming.


Or argue that taxpayers are losing an estimated $100 million in lost work and productivity every day the government is shut down and 230,000 federal employees remain idle.


That's what John Berry, Office of Personnel Management chief, tried to do.


Hey, John, here's an offer: If you promise to keep government employees idle AFTER the snow melts, we'll pay you $1 BILLION a day.


We in the heartland know, for the most part, that the less the federal government does, the better off we are.


That's why we need more snow in Washington, D.C.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2010, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles