Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 2, 2007 / 13 Shevat, 5767

Homework's supermodel role model

By Lenore Skenazy


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I never thought I'd say this but, on behalf of all women: G-d bless you, Christie Brinkley.


Sure, you've made us feel fat and unsmiley by comparison for, oh, a generation. Or two. And you've made us hate our non-bouncy hair. And you've made a lot of extremely ordinary, even SUB-ordinary men think that they should keep shopping around for a beaming busty blonde who never ages, frowns or is seen schlepping a Kohl's bag. But! All is forgiven, thanks to the demand you made in divorce court on Monday.


In order to agree to a temporary child support agreement, according to the New York Post, you insisted that your louse of a spouse promise to help the kids, 8 and 11, with their homework.


This is the shot heard round the dinner table! Married or divorced, a husband who is LEGALLY bound to sit down with those damn marble notebooks is what every woman dreams of. Forget the pool boy. Give us homework helpers!


"That's a great punishment," crowed Dina Perez, a 31-year-old mother of three, neatly nailing the issue. Homework IS punishment — if not for the kids, then certainly for the parents.


"It's horrible," says my friend Melissa. She's got girls in 4th and 7th grade and the main problem for her is plain old frustration: "If my fourth grader doesn't understand something I'm explaining in what I think is THE most perfect way, and she STILL has no idea, I'm just lost. Frustrated. Mad! How can you NOT understand the concept of 100 pennies?" Like earlier parents who threatened to send their kids to reform school, Melissa seethes, "You wanna go to the Sylvan Learning Center?'"


And then she feels bad.


Bad is just the feeling that homework breeds. Parents feel bad about helping too much, and about letting things slide, and, if they're me, they feel bad about not having cleaned the kitchen table well enough, so there's always a little translucent spot on the worksheet. But most of all, parents feel bad about having to be involved at all.


"Any good mood I have when I walked in the door goes away," says one New Jersey pal.


"Anything that would keep me out of the house from 4 to 8 would be great," agrees Marla Muni, a mother of two in Suffern.


Homework is like an awful second job — with a boss who's incredibly immature.


"My biggest problem is if the kids miss a class and I have to explain them something, you have to overcome the obstacle that you aren't as smart as the teacher," says my brilliant friend, Gigi.


"My fifth grader missed a class where they had to do long division and she was going, 'You can't show me!' Even though I have an applied math degree from Harvard, she doesn't think I know how to do long division."


On the other hand, when Gigi's husband volunteers to pitch in, "They say, 'No, Daddy. It's OK. We'll have Mommy do this.'"


So in truth, maybe the problem isn't always that dads aren't willing to chip in. It's that mothers are usually expected to solve children's problems, including the ones that begin, "If a train is traveling at 65 miles an hour "


And then there are the times when even both parents can't solve the problem, because that's how onerous homework has become.


"We had a science fair last year," says a Manhattan mother who shall remain nameless. "My son came up with this great idea to build a tsunami tank. Well, not only could HE not build it himself, WE couldn't build it." Being uber-urbanites, however, they did come up with a solution. They had the super build it.


"It was a huge hit at the science fair," recalls the mom. But this year, she came up with a better solution: "Do it yourself."


Maybe that's what Peter Cook will say when it's time for him to help the kids with their homework. Maybe Christie will say the same. And maybe if they'd said it a couple years earlier, they would have been so happy, with so much time to enjoy each other's company, they wouldn't be in divorce court now.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR contributor Lenore Skenazy's column by clicking here.

Lenore Skenazy Archives

© 2007, Creators Syndicate

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles