Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 20, 2006 / 22 Shevat, 5766

Slacker Careers

By Marty Nemko

Nemko
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | A recent college graduate came to me to figure out what career to pursue, but she yes-butted every career I suggested as too difficult or too much work. Finally, I asked her whether she'd like a job as a Flower Watcher: a person who stares at flowers all day to be sure they're all right. Not realizing I was joking, she lit up.


That reminded me that not everyone is interested in a challenging career. Some would like nothing better than Lil' Abner's profession: mattress tester. Alas, mattresses are tested by machine, but here's a list of real-life slacker careers.


Academic Advisor. Helping college students plan which courses to take isn't exactly taxing. Overtime is rarely required and colleges are only in session 35 weeks out of the year, with plenty of holidays in between. Bonus: Your job is on a college campus, one of the most pleasant work environments. Next step: Visit the National Academic Advisors Association site: www.nacada.ksu.edu


Perfumer. Yes, employers require perfumers to know some chemistry but admit that much of the job is simply trial and error: trying out different combinations of fragrance to create the most pleasing massage oil, soda, perfume, etc. Next step: Visit the American Society of Perfumers site: www.perfumers.org. Winemaker. Test the grapes in the vineyard. Ferment. Blend. Let the wine sit a spell in some oak or steel. Taste again. Not a bad life. Next step: Read the book, Home Winemaking, Step-by-Step by Jon Iverson.


Inspector. It's much easier to tell people what's wrong than to make sure something's right. I think of those food inspectors who swoop into restaurants and point: "That's not clean enough." Easy for him to say. I can't even keep my home kitchen clean. I can't imagine what it would look like if, seven days a week, I had to cook for 100 at lunch followed by 100 for dinner. Next step: Read the Occupational Outlook Handbook profile of inspector careers: www.bls.gov/search/ooh.asp?qu=inspectors&ct=OOH.


Matchmaker. "Well, Mary, let me ask you a few questions about yourself and your desired mate… Okay, I think I'll set you up with John, Tim, and Richard. Oh, that will be $3,000." Next step: Read the book, Matchbook : The Diary of a Modern-Day Matchmaker by Samantha Daniels.



BUY THE BOOKS


Click HERE to purchase.


Click HERE to purchase.


Click HERE to purchase.

(Sales are discounted and help fund JWR.)


Government employee. Of course, many government employees work hard, but it's not impossible to find a job in government in which laziness is tolerated. Next step: Visit www.resume-place.com, a leading advice site on federal employment.


Driver. Sit down, turn the key, drive, maintain attention, turn on the radio when bored, turn off the key. Day is done. Next step: The Occupational Outlook Handbook profiles of driving careers: www.bls.gov/search/ooh.asp?qu=driver&ct=OOH


Toll Collector. Self-explanatory. Next step: Read Toll Collector by Jack Rudman.


Piano tuner. You don't even have to have a good ear. A tuning machine makes it easy.. Plus you're usually working in a peaceful environment and without time pressure. Cush. Next step: Play around at the Piano Technician's Guild site: www.ptg.org.


Food Taster. Coffee might buzz me too much but ice cream manufacturers employ testers. Not bad. Chocolate taster, even better. Next step: Read this article: www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,108182,00.html.


Some people actually make a decent living in the above careers. That's less likely in this next group of jobs, but they might appeal to the hard-core slacker, especially if they can mooch additional money off parents, spouse, or trust fund.


Self-Serve Gas Station Attendant. Mainly, you just sit there and take money. Your greatest challenge may be to try to get the license plate of thiefs who drive away without paying. Next step: Read this article: http://www.afb.org/CareerConnect/users/dot_detail.asp?soc=53-6031.00


Order Taker. When I call to place an order at places like Park Seed, Lands End, or Jet Blue, the order takers tell me they really like their jobs and say it's usually easy and relaxing. I mean, it can't be too taxing to say, "What's your next item number?" or answer, "Does it come in blue?" About as stressful as it gets is, "Can I change my reservation?" "Not without a $50 fee." Next step: Go to simplyhired.com and indeed.com and search on "order taker" or "customer service."


Mystery Shopper. You buy stuff and fill out a checklist on how nicely you were treated. Can you handle it? Next step: Read an article or two from this portal: http://jobsearch.about.com/od/mysteryshopper/


Personal Shopper. You traipse malls to buy things with other people's money. Next step: Read this article: http://www.startupjournal.com/columnists/startuplifestyle/20041215-lifestyle.html.


Store Security Guard. Your job is to stand there. I know, I know, there's always the chance of danger, but in my 55 years, I've been in a zillion stores, most with security guards, and 99 percent of time, they're just standing there, maybe chatting. And I've never seen a store security guard have to do anything more dangerous than walk a shoplifter into the back room. Next step: Read the security guard profile in the Occupational Outlook Handbook: www.bls.gov/oco/ocos159.htm.


House Sitter. Water the plants, feed the cat, keep the lights on so the robbers think someone's home, all usually in a nice house in a nice neighborhood. Next step: Search www.indeed.com and www.simplyhired.com for house sitter jobs.


Flower Arranger. "I think I'll put that lily in there. Okay, now a rose. Here, a bit of fern." Life doesn't get much easier than this. Next step: Read an article or two from this portal on floral design: www.save-on-crafts.com/flowartec.html.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

400+ of Dr. Nemko's published writings are on www.martynemko.com. Comment by clicking here.

Archives

© 2006, Dr. Marty Nemko

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles