Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 28, 2005 / 19 Adar I, 5765

President Hillary, first lady Bill

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I told you it could happen. And it's happening.

A nationwide poll conducted last week by the Siena College Research Institute said more than six in 10 voters believes the United States is ready for a woman president in 2008. Translation: President Hillary.

I couldn't care less if our president is male or female — I don't care about the president's ethnicity, skin color, age or sex. All I care about is what he or she stands for and how effectively he or she executes the job.

I like how President Bush is executing his job. I don't agree with all of his decisions, but I like his plan to promote an Ownership Society. The best way to secure the pursuit of happiness in America is to unleash the power of the individual.

And the best way to unleash the power of individuals is to reduce taxes and regulations and let people make their own decisions. Economic growth will result, and growth is our primary solution to a host of government challenges and obligations.

Which is why I'm already worried about President Hillary.

If her past ideas are any indication, and they are, she has a whole different idea about government. She believes that villages, not individuals, are the way to do things. Democrats love villages because they require new taxes, new regulations and lots and lots of government controls.

But Hillary is no dummy. She knows that if she has any hope of becoming president, she can't say such things. To win, she must steal away votes from the red states — and the common-sense folks who voted for Bush — which means she has to conceal what she really thinks about governing.

Lately, she's been making Barry Goldwater sound like an FDR appointee. Just a few weeks ago she said she thought the abortion and anti-abortion people really do have lots in common. Last week, she sounded like the Gipper himself — she she said we can't give a fixed pull-out date for our troops in Iraq because it would embolden terrorists.

Her strategy could work.

If she runs in 2008, she could hold every state John Kerry won — a monkey could if he registers as a Democrat. All she'd have to count on is that a handful of voters in the other states will completely forget all the stuff she said and did when her husband was president.

Which brings me to my larger worry: First Lady Bill Clinton.

I like Bill Clinton. He's a very entertaining man. His peccadilloes gave me an endless amount of material for eight years. I'd love to meet him for a beer some time (so long as my sisters are out of town.)

But I tremble at the though of what would happen if he becomes First Lady. Considering the trouble he got us into when he had the most time-consuming job in the world, how would he conduct himself with lots of free time? We'd have to establish a special Secret Service detail not to protect Clinton from the public, but the public from Clinton.

Donate to JWR


If he becomes First Lady, the White House Easter Egg Roll will feature college coeds, not children. The White House kitchen will be outsourced to Hooters. The Dominoes people will operate a franchise from the Lincoln Bedroom.

Goodness knows what his mission will be. Laura Bush promoted literacy. Hillary promoted Hillary. Barbara Bush promoted literacy and volunteerism. Nancy Reagan sought to end drug abuse as part of her "Just Say No" campaign. I think Clinton will embrace "Just Say No," too — "Just Say No to Abstinence, Fidelity and Hillary."

You may think I'm joking around here but I'm not. We've had no great scandals or embarrassments under Bush. Adults are working with other adults to face down many daunting adult problems. You may not agree with Bush's approach but do you really want to go back to the Clinton era.

I couldn't care less if our next president is a woman, just so long as she isn't Hillary. I offer proof. President Condi Rice?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and the media consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES


© 2005, Tom Purcell