Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 7, 2005 / 28 Shevat, 5765

Booze, the Dems and Teddy Kennedy

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | February is the hardest month of the year for me. It's the month I give up drinking. I think Democrats should join me.

Forsaking adult beverages one month each year helps me strengthen my willpower and clear out my noggin. It gives me an opportunity to stand back, reevaluate my little world and set off on a fresh course.

That's exactly what Democrats must do, because I'm convinced they've been hitting the sauce a little hard.

Just a few days before the historic election in Iraq, Teddy Kennedy spat out his latest blather. He said Iraq was a Bush disaster and that America should pull out right away. Even after that election succeeded beyond anyone's wildest expectations — even after Iraqi voters danced in the streets and the most leftward among us began asking, "What if Bush was right?" — old Teddy said the election meant little.

As a fellow Irishman, I know why he is so out of touch with reality: an abundance of Manhattans that are light on the "man" and heavy on the "hattan." The last time I soaked my noggin in that potent mix, I scared off a woman nearly as bad as Teddy is scaring off America's middle class.

But he's not the only one over-tipping the bottle. The day after the election in Iraq, old sourpuss Kerry said we should not over-hype its success. He said Iraq is now a greater terrorist threat to America than when Saddam was in charge. He went on to set out everything the Bush administration is doing wrong and why it's likely the sky will fall.

I know exactly why Kerry is saying such things: Gray Goose vodka. Though I prefer a good Irish whiskey, I've enjoyed a chilled Gray Goose from time to time. A fellow's mind can become so wilted by the stuff, he could find himself on Meet the Press uttering the inanities Kerry uttered — a problem exacerbated by the fact that Gray Goose is made by the French.

There's plenty more drinking going on among Democrats. A few days before the president's State of the Union address, House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi and Nevada Senator Harry Reid gave a "prebuttal."

See, the Democrats keep losing elections because they offer no alternatives to Republican policies. And just as the country is returning to its conservative sense of individualism, self-reliance and common sense, Democrats have been going the other way — towards a European-style nanny state.

You'd think, therefore, that Pelosi and Reid would use their talk to showcase fresh new ideas — that would excite the middle class. But they did not. They dwelled, instead, on the negative.

Donate to JWR


Reid tried to sell the notion that Bush is just standing by while the rest of the world is taking the lead to solve world problems. Then Pelosi tried to scare older folks into believing that Bush is trying to wreck the Social Security program — the one that doesn't need radical reform now that a Republican is president but that did need it when a Democrat was in the White House.

The reason for such "reasoning" is clear to me. A majority of the Democrats in both the House and the Senate have been sucking down Courvoisier, a fine Cognac preferred by elitists throughout Western Europe and American academia, by the six-pack. I know firsthand that an abundance of this condensed wine leads to a lack of clarity and an inability to conduct rational thinking of any kind. This problem is also exacerbated by the fact that Courvoisier is made by the French.

The more Democrats speak — the more they attempt to win over the middle class by slamming the president — the more certain I am that they are drinking too much. I beg of them to join me this February and swear off adult beverages of every kind.

This may not only help them set off on a better course, it will stop them from driving the rest of America to drink.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and the media consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES


© 2005, Tom Purcell