Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Feb. 4, 2004 / 12 Teves, 5764

Jewish War Veterans: A Wee Bit Slower But Still Fighting The Good Fight

By Steve Young


Printer Friendly Version

Email this article



http://www.jewishworldreview.com | There's a regular caller who is part of Sean Hannity radio lore. His name is Marty and he is a rather elderly gent who makes his presence known with his daily call to the show followed by Hannity's hallmark, "Ma-a-arty!" A couple months back a columnist used Marty's name to take the conservative host to task. Sean took great umbrage at the using of Marty, a WWII vet who fought valiantly at Normandy on D-Day, to make political hay. Some thought that perhaps Sean was a bit over the top with his reaction to the columnist. Then again, maybe not.

Over the recent holidays, I stopped in to Jewish War Veterans post 697 in Levittown, PA where I am a member, though in dues-paying name only. I live on the West Coast so my involvement is pretty much limited to receiving their monthly newsletters and using their holiday return address labels liberally, if you catch my living in Hollywood, left-leaning no-snow drift.

This particular JWV post, Fegelson-Young-Feinberg, was named after my father and two other original, now deceased, WW II veterans, and I have been a member for years. But it had been years since I actually attended a meeting. In fact, when I was young I had been reticent to be part of any group that separated itself by name. Didn't that mean you were different, or worse, better than another group? My youthful idealism, right along with my youthful ignorance, kept me from gathering the real story. This meeting was that story.

Here were men and women who, for the most part, received their veteran status through their involvement in World War II and the Korean conflict when they were in their twenties. Over fifty years ago, most of these vets are now in their late 70's and 80's, retired from business and looking little like the young, healthy and enthusiastic individuals they were when they fought bravely protecting our country. Now their children are too old to serve. Many of their grandchildren are passing the age of service.

They had trouble rising from their seats and walked slowly, if they still could walk, to the lectern to speak. Their voices were low, raspy from age and those who were trying to listen weren't having it much easier.


Donate to JWR


In many ways, observing this group, with their youth harder to recall with each passing year, it would at first seem rather sad. That is until you start to listen to what they were saying or you follow their plodding gait to where they planned to lend a hand next. Then it was like these old warriors had taken a delightful swim in the pool from "Cocoon" where they emerged from the wrinkled cloak of age and seemed to pick up right from where they were when they wore their uniforms of country, to again, fight the good fight.

Know what these old coots were up to? For one, anything that has to do with veterans affairs, from writing letters to get more aid for those brothers and sister veterans who will never get out of the hospital to picking up the utensils and feeding those who no longer can manage for themselves. And it's not like they take the easy route.

I went with a number of 697 Post members on a rather harrowing Christmas morning drive to Coatesville Veterans hospital; through snow and ice, on more than a 100 mile slippery round trip up the Pennsylvania Turnpike from Levittown to Coateville so that they could share some smiles and company with their interred and invalid comrades. My fellow passengers, these near eight decade old youngsters, who had faced down death in actual combat, now laughed hysterically at stories they had heard many times before and here I was holding the arm rest so tight my fingerprints still remained months after I returned to my warm and un-icy west coast home. What a man.

But when we arrived at our destination, the greeting from the staff and those damaged veterans who have called this hospital "their home," many since they left the service to their country, it made clear why we were there. The vets understood for that moment that they weren't forgotten and instantly my icy-road anxieties and my doubts about the meaning of the JWV, became insignificant and embarrassingly selfish. No one asked what religion or what political party was holding the fork or receiving the food. No one asked how fast you could walk or how different one was from another. This was not about being divided. This was truly about bringing together.

But the hospital visits are just a small part of what the Jewish War Veterans stand for. Nationwide, on a daily basis, the JWV battles on the front lines helping their communities; collecting food, clothing and anything else that they might bring hope to those in need. Whether caring for elderly veterans or cradling sick infants, they are on hand helping out at the hospitals and retirement homes. They are at the blood banks, working with the mentally ill, placing flags at the graves of our fallen heros, supporting the Holocaust exhibits, lobbying our lawmakers to not forget those who sacrificed for our freedoms, telling their stories at schools, always available to do whatever needs to be done for those who may not be able to do for themselves, showing that you never need stop being of service, even when you're out of the service.

And while this particular story is about the Jewish War Veterans, the same story applies to all veterans groups; the American Legion, Veteran of Foreign Wars, AmVets and so many others, no matter what war, no matter what belief, no matter actual veteran or auxiliary.

As Abraham Lincoln once said..."To Care for Him who Shall Have Borne the Battle, and for his Widow and his Orphan..." To that I might add, lest we forget their true worth.

I ask you, no matter whether you be Christian, Jew, Muslim, agnostic or atheist; Democrat or Republican; liberal or conservative, honor these gems of the past, for they continue to do the work of today.

Thanks Ma-a-arty! Thanks every veteran! Thanks a lot.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



JWR contributor Steve Young, Prism Award winner and Humanitas Prize nominee for his television writing, is film correspondent for BBC radio. He is the author of "Great Failures of the Extremely Successful: Mistakes, Adversity, Failure and Other Stepping Stones to Success," "The 130 Tales of Winchell Mink," Harper Collins (Winter, 2003) and the director/writer of "My Dinner With Ovitz." His website is www.greatfailure.com. Comment by clicking here.

Up

Archives

© 2004, Steve Young