Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 29, 2014/ 28 Shevat, 5774

Give us the truth, Mr. President

By Roger Simon



JewishWorldReview.com | President Barack Obama couldn’t give a bad speech if he tried, but he did his best Tuesday night.

Obama sought to rekindle his former relationship with the American people through his fifth State of the Union address. But I think it may take more than a speech. Counseling may be required.

After listening to the entire 65-minute speech and reading all of the nearly 6,900 words of the text, I was filled with the ominous sense that I had seen this movie before and that we all had been there and done that.

The big takeaway, heralded by the press all day, was supposed to be that Obama was going to take his own executive actions and not wait for a paralyzed Congress to pass legislation.

Big deal. It’s an old idea. And not that effective. Many presidents have tried it, including Barack Obama. When I interviewed his then-Chief of Staff Bill Daley in October 2011, Daley said that Obama “based upon frustration” was “going to every agency, every department and saying, ‘What can you do on your own?’ ” without waiting for action by Congress.

Doesn’t seem to have done the job, does it? Not only is a president’s power limited, but whatever one president can do by executive action, a succeeding president can undo by executive action.

Obama needed to tell us how he was going to pick up Congress by the scruff of its neck and shake some action out of it.

But Obama aides told reporters before his speech that he would not be very combative toward Republicans and not be very partisan.

They were not kidding. During his speech Obama sounded as if he were among friends. “As president, I’m committed to making Washington work better, and rebuilding the trust of the people who sent us here,” he said. “I believe most of you are, too.”

Really? What makes him think so? The shutdown of the government? The refusal by Congress to extend unemployment benefits, or pass needed gun control legislation, or immigration reform? That’s the Congress that wants to rebuild our trust?

It hasn’t rebuilt my trust; it has shaken it.

I had hoped for a tougher Obama. I had hoped for an Obama who was weary of his open hand being smacked away time and again by the closed fists of Republicans in the House.

Even when Obama had opportunities, he didn’t take them. He said that because of Obamacare, “no American can ever again be dropped or denied coverage for a preexisting condition like asthma, back pain, or cancer. No woman can ever be charged more just because she’s a woman.”



How true. But I wanted him to add: “But if you vote for a Republican Senate and a Republican House this November, all that might go way.”

I guess that would have been too partisan.

Obama devoted a whole 67 words to gun control, offering no specifics in a speech that was stuffed with specifics on other issues. Then he moved on to the more popular ground of “the men and women of the United States armed forces.”

Yes, I was moved when Obama spoke of the incredibly brave and dedicated Army Ranger Cory Remsburg, who “was nearly killed by a massive roadside bomb in Afghanistan. His comrades found him in a canal, face down, underwater, shrapnel in his brain.”

And, yes, I teared up watching Remsburg struggle to stand up from his honored seat in the balcony next to the First Lady and wave to the audience. Who could not be moved?

The president’s point, however, was not that our troops should come home from Afghanistan, but that they should stay for another 10 years after fighting there for more than a dozen years already.

“But I will not send our troops into harm’s way unless it’s truly necessary; nor will I allow our sons and daughters to be mired in open-ended conflicts,” he said.

He won’t? What is Afghanistan if not an open-ended conflict?

The president who once gave us the audacity of hope, should at least give us the audacity of truth. And a little fighting spirit of his own.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.




Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.

Roger Simon Archives

© 2013, Creators Syndicate.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast