Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Some questions for our time

By Mark Patinkin



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Who's the lady behind the GPS voice, and in real life, does she have the first clue how to get anywhere?

Why is the click-point for saving data on computers an image of an obsolete 3.5-inch disk?

Why is YouTube, which people watch on computer flatscreens and cell phones, named after TV cathode-ray technology?

Do Victoria's Secret models ever wear flannel nightgowns to bed?

If India's economy passes us by, will we have to get customer support jobs and pick phone names like Sanjay and Deepak to help them make their plane reservations?

Do racecar drivers know how to make right turns?

How come technology lets us avoid germs by waving at faucets and paper towels but we still have to open the door handle everyone touches with our hands?

Will L'il Wayne's kids rebel against him by listening to Barry Manilow?

If hackers steal the identity of someone in debt, does that mean they owe the money?

Who does Warren Buffett ask for investment advice?

Do Walmart's billionaire heirs feel it's beneath them to shop at Walmart?



When off-duty weathermen have weekend plans ruined by unexpected rain, do they wonder why weathermen never get it right?

Do computer people who make a living programming pop-up ads ever have their work interrupted by pop-ups?

Do muggers who lurk around dangerous neighborhoods at night ever get mugged?

Why were they ever called desktop computers when most people put them below their desks?

Why do eyeglasses cost as much as smartphones?

Do the people who operate drones always win at video games? Has anyone figured out yet what the Occupy people were protesting?

When people who make commercials for TV go channel surfing, do they get angry if they keep running into commercials?

Do e-mail scammers ever get pitches offering them millions if they transfer the fortune of the "Nigerian oil minister"?

Does Mark Zuckerberg avoid work by poking around Facebook to see what's become of old girlfriends?

Do people who work at Whole Foods ever sneak out on break when no one's looking and have a Big Mac?

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Your comments are appreciated. Please send them by clicking here.

Mark Patinkin is a columnist with The Providence Journal.



Previously:

Be honest --- what has a cat ever done for you?

'As Seen on TV' feeds my inner-consumer needs

Some phrases I hope to never hear again, and other thoughts

America's promise, then and now, outweighs its failings

Mud no obstacle to fun at 'Stampede' course

Warning -- reading this may cause insomnia, palpitations, swelling, etc.

All-too-prevalent scam attempts draw ire of readers

Fighting the 'something for nothing' mentality

My list of 'New Things That Now Bug Me'

No gender roles when it comes to being absurd

The single man's guide to being king of the castle

Sticking with what works in an ever-changing landscape

Advice to get you through the day

Heinz is altering the ketchup package, and I'm a nervous wreck

Guys need to watch out for sweet-talking ‘women’

I'm afraid to think what's in all those women's purses

I've changed my mind — women don't have it easier (Happy now?)

Here's why women have it easier in life over men

No handouts, thank you, for Michael Kosior

Buck up and take your advice like a man …

The dark side of Youth baseball

‘Nutritional avoidance therapy’ and other crimes against language

I'm still waiting for my ‘Imitation Spit’

It was in France where I learned girls control everything

Hint: Heloise never had an answer for stubborn teens

CliffsNotes for the Twitter generation …

Conversation with someone who just awoke after 30-year coma

When life's small matters appear as crisis

My own private articles of faith

My Dad's still quick with a quip

The trouble with lines … and whose fault it is

Men aren't ever lost, we're just figuring it out

Revenge of the telemarketee

None of Oprah's ‘favorite things’ are on my to-buy list

Even penicillin is powerless against cooties

What's wrong with 15 mice?

Let college application essay reveal the real you

Scientific research has thrown batters a curve

Cemetery visits don't make her sad

For today's youngsters, instant gratification takes too long

No texting during homework? Call the authorities

Class of 2014 doesn't know what it's missing

After all these years, I have an admission to make

Readers write the darndest things


© 2010, The Providence Journal Co.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles