Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan 27, 2014/ 26 Shevat, 5774

O Captain! My Captain! Our fateful troth (& hairdo) is done

By Christine M. Flowers

Christine M. Flowers


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) My high-school haircut is in mourning today: The Captain and Tennille have called it quits. This one definitely came out of left field, and while the last time I thought of them was when Reagan was still in office, it's hit me pretty hard. Why, you might wonder, am I grieving over the breakup of a couple I never met and that was capable of producing "Muskrat Love"? It's complicated.

At the most simplistic level, I hate change. Those who think that evolution is what keeps us alive (beyond the literal, Darwinian sense) are cheerleaders for renewal and have very little attachment to the past. Memories to them are quaint ephemera, pleasant but nonessential. The future is what counts, in all of its unpredictable promise. But those of us who cling to the past are less enamored of seismic movement, and don't embrace change for the mere sake of it. Of course, some change is good (the Civil Rights Act, the 49th and 50th states, self-grip hair curlers), but the concept itself does not necessarily raise us to a higher plane.

But this doesn't really account for my sense of sadness at the news that Muskrat Susie and Muskrat Sam are headed for divorce court. Maybe it's something only a child of the mid to late '70s can understand, someone who grew up at a time when everything was colored in glitter and elevated on platform shoes and orchestrated to the "thump-thump" beat of a disco hit. Personally, I had little use for Donna Summer and Studio 54 and all the really bad music that formed the soundtrack of my high-school dances (which, who am I kidding, I only decorated for and never actually attended).

When the Captain and Tennille burst onto the scene in 1975 with "Love Will Keep Us Together," I was thrilled. This was my kind of music: kind of hokey, with a throwback beat and written by Neil Sedaka, a man who actually understood the mechanics of lyric + melody = magic. It wasn't a song that existed as background music for your "Saturday Night Fever" (which was, in 1975, just a slight cold). And the best part about it, aside from the really cool hairdo that Toni Tennille sported, was the fact that the two people singing about staying together really were together. The year they came out with the song, Daryl Dragon and his lady got hitched, and it looked as if they'd stay that way forever.

None of us believed it, of course. Through all the appearances on "Bandstand" and on tour and in their television specials, we were just waiting for the second clog to drop. In that age of zipless whatevers (thank you, Erica Jong) and in the midst of the escalation of a sexual revolution started by the boomers (who looked ridiculous stomping down to "Burn Baby Burn," because anyone over 30 looks really bad twirling around in polyester), here were two nice people who actually had musical talent and loved each other. It couldn't last.



But, impossibly, and against all of the show-business odds, it did. For 39 years, the Captain and Tennille sat at that piano and made beautiful music together. OK, perhaps beautiful isn't an apt description for "Do That to Me One More Time," which is the type of song that makes you wish you were the product of asexual reproduction when you hear it while driving in the car with your father. Still, it was sung by a woman who quite obviously adored the man who was accompanying her, and that counted for something substantial.

I was so enamored of this couple that I copied Toni Tennille's haircut, unadvisedly as it turns out. While the modified Dutch Boy do, with bangs that were more impenetrable than the Berlin Wall, was actually flattering on the songbird, it didn't make a chubby 15 year old with Coke-bottle glasses look particularly appetizing. Still, it helped me camouflage the damage of a Lilt perm, and for that I was infinitely grateful.

So, to hear that this iconic couple of my adolescence has fallen victim to the scourge of separation makes me incredibly sad. Even though I know that many marriages end in divorce, and that second and third marriages are now a de rigueur part of the social portfolio of average Americans, I nonetheless cling to that quaint notion that some unions can withstand the erosion of time, grief and apathy. A man and a woman who make it through four full decades of cohabitation, ones that seemed from the outside like a kinship and twinship of souls, give you hope that some things survive.

And some things don't.

I divorced my haircut long ago, but always had affection for the lady who inspired it and the sphinx by her side. If only love could have kept them together.

Christine M. Flowers is a lawyer and columnist for the Philadelphia Daily News. Comments by clicking here.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Previously:



01/20/14: Christie's the victim, not the murderer
01/13/14: Of the court, Catholicism, cartoons & Satans
12/30/13: Of men, Giants and Texas Greeks bearing fourth-down conversions
10/28/13: Sense may be in short supply, but that gives us plenty to write about
10/16/13: Hail to the Redskins
10/14/13: It's the most wonderful time of the year
10/07/13: Congress teetering on the edge
09/18/13: It is Miss 'America,' after all, not Miss 'Special Interest Group'
09/16/13: America & its Miss'ed opportunities
09/10/13: We still must be civilization's gatekeepers
09/03/13: Around the world, the cross is in the crosshairs
08/19/13: Blood is on stop-and-frisk judge's hands
08/13/13: Hey, social progressives: Women can actually think with an organ other than a uterus
08/06/13: Media make our enemies seem friendly
07/29/13: Mrs. Anthony Weiner = Hillary 2.1
07/08/13: A voice of reason, from the dustbin
07/04/13: Heroes are all around us
05/27/13: Vietnam vet's words soothe modern tragedies
05/22/13: Circling the presidential-protection wagons
05/15/13: Divorce can't be just the pursuit of happiness
05/07/13: We knew Jackie Robinson, and Jason Collins is no Jackie Robinson
05/01/13: Blame pro-choice lobby for Philly monster
04/23/13: Of damnation, and staring back
04/15/13: Margaret Thatcher changed the world, and didnít have to be a feminist to do it
04/08/13: Taking great pleasure in the death penalty
04/01/13: An easy prediction --- bet on the unpredictable
03/26/13: 'The personal is political' is no reason to change
03/19/13: A word to the whines --- it was just some high jinks
03/11/13: The Great Race Debate, revisited
03/04/13: Marriage goes beyond love
02/19/13: 2 women, and what they're fighting for
02/04/13: Sadly, Scouting seems poised to give up the fight
01/15/13: Reflections from Gettysburg
01/02/13: The mentally ill vs. those who love them
12/27/12: Rapper learns he's just another guy on probation
12/20/12: Cold, hard truth about the killer
12/10/12: When a warm heart meets a cold manipulator
11/22/12: Some women don't know how good they have it


© 2013, Philadelphia Daily News. Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast