Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan 20, 2014 / 19 Shevat, 5774

I Take Full Responsibility --- Now Leave Me Alone!

By Bernard Goldberg



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Now that Benghazi is back in the news with a Senate report saying the deadly attack was "preventable" and blasting the State Department for lax security that led to four Americans being murdered, I've been wondering: Where is Hillary Clinton? Why isn't she out there commenting on the report? It's like she's disappeared.

Then it hits me how unfair I am. Why should Hillary have to say anything about the report? She's already put the matter to rest. Over a year ago she told CNN she takes "full responsibility" for the security failures in Benghazi.

And then she resigned in disgrace. Just kidding. After taking "full responsibility" she did absolutely nothing, just like a lot of other pols who "take full responsibility" and then go about their business as if nothing happened. Taking "full responsibility" and "suffering consequences," apparently, have nothing to do with each other.

Of all the terms and phrases in the English language, I think, "I take full responsibility" just may be the most meaningless.

When no one could log onto the government website to sign up for ObamaCare, the president courageously took "full responsibility" for making sure the website gets fixed. And what if it doesn't? What if, as some contend, the site isn’t secure and may be a goldmine for hackers? Will President Obama resign? Just kidding.



So in the goofy world of American politics, saying "I take full responsibility" isn't the first step to paying a price for the problem. It's a statement used to avoid paying a price. Orwell must be smiling.

As the scholar Thomas Sowell put it: "Don't you love it when a politicians says, 'I take full responsibility'? Translated into plain English, that says, 'Now that I have admitted it, there is nothing more for me to do (such as resign) and nothing for anyone else to do (such as fire me).' Saying 'I take full responsibility" is like a get-out-of-jail-free card in the Monopoly game.'

Not always. Anthony Weiner took "full responsibility" for texting his wiener to young women, but at least he had the decency (sorry, wrong word) to resign from Congress. And right after he resigned he announced he would run for mayor of New York City. But hey, he took "full responsibility" for what he did, right?

Back in 1993, Attorney General Janet Reno took responsibility for what some called the "federal massacre" of the Branch Davidians at Waco, Texas.

“I’m accountable. The buck stops with me,” she told Ted Koppel on Nightline. But when Koppel told her that in many European countries a Cabinet minister would resign as a way to accept responsibility for a major failure, Reno said: “If that’s what the president wants, I’m happy to do so.” In other words: “Let's get something straight Bozo, I'm not going anywhere unless someone kicks me out."

At the time, Mickey Kaus, noting how meaningless her claim to "accountability" was, wrote this: "[S]he made a disastrous decision that resulted in the loss of more than 70 lives. Then she accepted 'responsibility.’ In a bizarre bit of political alchemy, this somehow protected her from suffering any of the consequences that normally attend disastrously handled responsibilities. Far from restoring accountability, Reno seems to have hit on the formula for avoiding it. Make a dreadful mistake? Go immediately on Nightline. Say the buck stops with you. Recount in moving human terms the agony of your decision. And watch your polls rise."

When Hillary announces that she's running for president I hope some journalist reminds her that she took "full responsibility" for the "preventable" debacle in Benghazi and then asks her what consequences she's prepared to suffer for her mistake. Along the same lines, I also hope I win the lottery.

I tried my best to get everything right in this column but if I didn't, believe me, I take full responsibility. Now get off my back.

What does “I take full responsibility” really mean when the words come out of the mouth of a politician? Funny replies wanted.

ARCHIVES

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Bernard Goldberg, the television news reporter and author of several bestselling books, among them, Bias, a New York Times number one bestseller about how the media distort the news. He is widely seen as one of the most original writers and thinkers in broadcast journalism. Mr. Goldberg covered stories all over the world for CBS News and has won 10 Emmy awards for excellence in journalism. He now reports for the widely acclaimed HBO broadcast Real Sports.

He is a graduate of Rutgers University, New Brunswick, New Jersey and a member of the school's Hall of Distinguished Alumni and proprietor of BernardGoldberg.com.


Previously:

© 2013, Bernard Goldberg

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast