Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 23, 2014/ 22 Shevat, 5774

Getting everything wrong about media

By Jay Ambrose




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Liberty-shredding impulses reign in some news outlets, such as Salon that is forever taking great leaps leftward and recently did so in a book excerpt. It spoke of the wonderful news future you'd get if corporations as we have known them went away, socialism took over and no one had to put up any longer with the likes of Fox News, the Wall Street Journal, CNN or The New York Times.

Beating up on Fox and sometimes the Wall Street Journal editorial page is everyday stuff for all manner of leftists from mild to wild, but it is more than unusual for them to beat up on CNN and the New York Times. Fred Jerome, a contributor to "Imagine: Living in a Socialist USA," shows on the website that he has it figured out, though.

He says mainstream media outlets are "tightly controlled" by corporate owners imposing their capitalist, advertiser-oriented egregiousness on what's reported. I think all his arguments are silly, but let me respond by first conceding that advertisers will sometimes shove back at news outlets if content irks them

As much happened in 1980 when I was editorial-page editor of The Rocky Mountain News in Denver. An editorial had fiercely, adamantly opposed a $1.5 billion federal government bailout of Chrysler. I got a call from the publisher who said auto advertisers were just as adamantly canceling ads and I had cost the newspaper $500,000. While I was calculating how many years I'd have to work for free, I got a call from my editor, who happened to be overseas. He had heard from the publisher and asked for a trans-Atlantic explanation. I gave him one, and then he said something like, "Oh, don't worry. Forget 'em."



The advertisers in fact hurriedly came back to the paper as they learned every dollar they denied us cost them a dollar in fewer customers. What my editor understood was that honesty in reporting and opinion writing fed credibility that led to big circulation that advertisers love more than flattering editorials. Editors in my experience also believe in standards for the sake of the social good, as do reporters who are catlike when it comes to herding them. Tell them to skip scruples on behalf of economic interests and they would rightly say "no," which does not mean all are great at shedding subjectivity.

I've spent in excess of four decades in the news biz, have known countless journalists and promise you that surveys are right in saying the vast majority are liberal. I can tell you, too, that this is an era when objectivity strikes many as a false standard. The liberal side of stories therefore has a better chance of getting out than the conservative side as reporters refer to their own world view as a trustworthy avenue to truth.

That means the bias is the opposite of what Jerome fears and that you should not worry yourself to death about another book, this one by Gabriel Sherman and called, "The Loudest Voice in the Room: How the Brilliant, Bombastic Roger Ailes Built Fox News - And Divided a Country."

The primary subject is Ailes, a fascinating if endlessly castigated man whose direction of Fox News divided nothing. For all its faults, the network's conservatism helps compensate for the liberalism of NBC, CBS, ABC and others as it affords news interpretations and commentator opinions that have value and should be part of the national conversation.

I am for free speech, and it is fine with me if Salon wants to carry a piece saying our media should be publicly financed and run by a socialist government and such special interests as unions. But I also think it is really, truly important that there are other voices that just might remind people that free speech seldom finds a secure home in a political system too begrudging of freedom to allow it in markets.


ARCHIVES

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Jay Ambrose, formerly Washington director of editorial policy for Scripps Howard newspapers and the editor of dailies in El Paso, Texas, and Denver, is a columnist living in Colorado.



© 2013, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast