Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan 13, 2014/ 12 Shevat, 5774

Anniversary of Haiti quake a sad reminder

By Mitch Albom








http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Four years ago, the earth shook in Haiti. It lasted less than a minute. By the time the trembling stopped, death had already begun.

Many were killed instantly, by collapsed buildings, oncoming cars, falling pipes, girders, walls. Others died in the days that followed, bleeding out, missing limbs. Some died while being carried to makeshift hospitals. Others died on blankets or old mattresses while awaiting treatment.

Disease and unsanitary conditions took more lives. Bodies were buried in mass graves. Some were tossed in dumps. Many remained for weeks beneath flattened buildings. Some were bulldozed away, leaving no remains for a casket, no grave site to visit.

When the dust settled, Haitian authorities estimated more than 300,000 were dead. That would be about 3% of the entire population.

Had those percentages applied to the U.S., it would be over 9 million people dead — or about seven times as many Americans killed in every war we ever fought, from the 18th Century to Afghanistan.

One earthquake.

Three percent of your people.

Four years later, life is still unsteady.

A GLIMMER OF HOPE
I began going to Haiti a few weeks after the 2010 disaster. I go every month now. That's more than 40 trips, I guess. You lose track in the fog of the place.

People ask all the time, "Is Haiti getting better?" Yes and no, I always say. Haiti is a strange nation, both tragic and joyous at the same time. Perhaps no other country on the planet has endured more natural catastrophes — or more man-made corruption — than Haiti. Yet no place I've ever been has more smiling children.

My purpose there is to operate an orphanage/mission in Port-au-Prince, the capital city. Around 40 kids, nearly all of whom came after the earthquake. In choosing which ones to admit, I sat and listened to the heartbreaking stories of each person who brought them.

After a while, a pattern emerged.

The earthquake hit. A dwelling collapsed. A parent was killed. Maybe both parents were killed. The child was taken to a tent village and lived in crowded, filthy conditions, with mud for floors and toilets a long walk away. The child slept on the ground, often with four or five others. There was no schooling. Little to eat. Nothing to do all day but sit and stare.

Days, months, even years passed. The child did pretty much nothing. Perhaps he or she played in muddy water, alongside skinny dogs and fat wild boars. Violence was often witnessed. If older siblings or relatives engaged in sexual relations, it was often in close proximity to the small children, leaving them curious, confused, or, in worst-case scenarios, abused.

Eventually, someone — the surviving parent, the guardian — could not afford even the meager cost of feeding the child, or needed more space, or got involved with someone else who didn't want the child — and so that child was brought to a mission or an orphanage.

And some of them came to us.


PEOPLE OF RESILIENCE
I recently returned from my monthly Haiti visit. We celebrated New Year's at the mission, a tradition the kids had never heard of before last year. We lit sparklers. We sang "Auld Lang Syne." It was only 8 o'clock at night, but, hey, kids have to get to bed.

As I made the rounds, kissing them goodnight, I noticed several of them who had been so happy just minutes earlier now lying in bed, staring off into space. Some of them had tears in their eyes. This is not uncommon at the end of a fun day. I think I know what it is. I think they are missing their families. I think they are missing life before the earthquake.

Which is why my answer to the "getting better?" question is always yes and no. Because no matter how much rubble is cleared from the street, how do you ever get over the horror? How do you get past the nightmares some of our children have of crawling out windows, or seeing people dead in the street, or, as one of our young girls experienced, seeing your house collapse with your parents inside it, never to see them again?

That life goes on at all, that playgrounds refill with people, that women carry huge baskets on their heads, that churches are full on Sunday mornings, is, in itself, an incredible act of strength.

And, in the end, that's what's most amazing about Haiti. The sheer resilience of its people. But at night, in the quiet of a bed, memories come back, screams and horrors and longing and loneliness. Buildings have been repaired, but souls still need patching.

Less than a minute? Three percent of your population? It was four years ago today that the earth shook. For many in Haiti, the ground is still trembling.


Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Mitch's column by clicking here.



Mitch's Archives


© 2013, THE DETROIT FREE PRESS DISTRIBUTED BY TMS, INC.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast