Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 18, 2013/ 7 Shevat, 5773

Leave the President's Kids out of It

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Abusing a president is fair game. It is practically an American pastime.

Abusing his spouse is usually tasteless, but spouses have become political surrogates and they have to expect a little rough and tumble now and again.

But abusing a president's children? Practically daring the harmful, the hateful and the hideous in our society to make them targets? How shameless do you have to be to do that?

Ask the NRA.

That organization has been running a Web video verbally targeting the president's two daughters. I do not suggest the NRA actually desires them to come to harm. I am (reasonably) sure nobody in the upper reaches of the NRA is that morally depraved.

But the NRA is using its members' dues not to protect the rights of hunters, which is what the NRA used to do, but to run a video twisting the Secret Service protection of the president's children to aid those who make a fortune by manufacturing and selling guns.

The ads says that armed guards protect the president's children but that because the president thinks armed guards in every school might not be a sensible idea, he is an "elitist hypocrite."

In point of fact, the president has never said he absolutely opposes armed guards in every school.

What he said on "Meet the Press" recently was, "I am skeptical that the only answer is putting more guns in schools."

He is skeptical. I am skeptical. Columbine High had an armed guard, and 12 students and one teacher were still murdered.

What I am not skeptical about is that the families of our presidents need Secret Service protection.

What I am not skeptical about is that raising the question of the safety of the president's daughters was not just repulsive, but dangerous. Yes, the president's daughters live in a mansion called the White House and they have servants and their own bowling alley and get to go around in (armored) limousines.

But come on. They are kids. They are 14 and 11. Do you think they really like the protective bubble they have to live in?

And do you think they are not at special risk requiring special protection?

"To go so far as to make the safety of the president's children the subject of an attack ad is repugnant and cowardly," White House press secretary Jay Carney said Wednesday.

I would call Carney's statement downright restrained.

A few hours later, Obama and Joe Biden announced their own ambitious gun control plans. Some parts of it can be accomplished immediately by the president through executive action (though keep in mind that what one president does, a later president can undo).

And some can be accomplished only by Congress, a body so dysfunctional that it has become an elephants' graveyard of hope.

But the president made one thing clear: What he wants to do about guns, he wants to do for America's children.

"This is our first task as a society, keeping our children safe," he said. "This is how we will be judged."

He said he believes the Second Amendments guarantees an individual right to bear arms. "I respect our strong tradition of gun ownership and the rights of hunters and sportsmen," he said. "I also believe most gun owners agree that we can respect the Second Amendment while keeping an irresponsible, law-breaking few from inflicting harm on a massive scale."

There is nothing in the president's proposals that would keep a hunter from hunting or a target shooter from shooting. Changing a gun magazine every 10 rounds is not a burdensome task.

Having a background check for people who buy guns at gun shows is not a unique abridgement of personal freedom. Their personal "freedom" is already abridged. And by gun shows. I know this because I have been checking the websites of gun shows, and a lot seem to have the same rule: No loaded guns allowed.

"No loaded firearms and no loaded magazines are permitted in any Crossroads gun show," one site said. "Your personal safety is our number one priority while you are at the show."

Personal safety? I thought loaded guns created personal safety.

"The only thing that stops a bad guy with a gun is a good guy with a gun," Wayne LaPierre, the CEO and executive vice president of the NRA, said a week after the massacre at Newtown Elementary School in Connecticut.

So I don't get it. What if a "bad guy" with a loaded gun, who had become deranged by playing a video game (which is one of the NRA's greatest fears) barged into a gun show? Wouldn't we want a whole bunch of "good guys" with loaded guns to stop him?

So why disarm people at gun shows?

Because "personal safety" is the No. 1 priority, that's why.

And that's why we have to reduce the easy availability of guns in our society, and ban military-style assault weapons and large-capacity gun magazines.

As Obama said Wednesday: "If parents and teachers, police officers and pastors, if hunters and sportsman, if responsible gun owners, if Americans of every background stand up and say: 'Enough. We've suffered too much pain, and care too much about our children to allow this to continue,' then change will come."

For some, it will come too late. For some, it has already come too late.

But enough is enough.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate

Quantcast