Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 22, 2013/ 11 Shevat, 5773

Where common ground starts

By Tom Purcell




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | "It‘s no wonder many Americans are uneasy about the way President Obama is growing our government and eroding our liberties. Aren‘t most Americans conservative?"

"That is correct. Every year, Gallup does a survey on political ideology and it generally finds that 40 percent of Americans describe themselves as conservative, whereas half as many describe themselves as liberal."

"Yeah, and some liberals think that all conservatives are religious-right, government-hating racist extremists, which is foolhardy. I‘m a lifelong Democrat. I‘m also what might be called conservative."

"Democrat and conservative?"

"It can be done. Like the majority of Americans, I‘d go for a balanced-budget amendment to get our spending in order. Like most Americans, I don‘t spend more than I make and am careful to save for a rainy day."

"Well, Gallup did another poll last November that compared Democrats and Republicans. It asked them if they have a positive or negative view about capitalism, the federal government and socialism. The majority of Republicans favored capitalism, but had a dismal view of the government and socialism, whereas the Democrats who were polled were much more favorable toward government and socialism than they were toward capitalism."

"I suppose so. You have to figure the more liberal Americans tend to be registered as Democrats, and the more conservative Americans as Republicans, but there are still a good number of Democrats like me who want commonsense policies that bring badly needed order to our government."

"As a Democrat, you surely think Republicans are too hard on welfare recipients."

"Nope. The welfare reform plan the Republicans pushed and President Clinton signed into law was one of the most effective domestic reform policies ever - though just before the last election, President Obama tossed out the work requirements that were the heart of the policy. Welfare was designed to help the indigent, not the able-bodied. And right now, way too many able-bodied people are getting too many government freebies."

"That is a fair point, too. The nutrition assistance program - it used to be referred to as the food stamp program - has doubled to $80 billion a year under Obama. College kids from well-to-do families qualify for the free grub and are happy to accept it."

"That‘s right. Doesn‘t everyone know someone who is gaming the system and feels no shame in doing so? One fellow I know of got his girlfriend pregnant when he was 19. They now have two children and the government gives her free grub, free utilities, a nice apartment and many other niceties. The young fellow lives with her. If the two were to marry, they would lose most of their benefits. I am a Democrat and I am disgusted by such things."

"Maybe we ought to stop separating ourselves along rigid ideological lines and come together to press our dirty rotten legislators to address the very real problems we face. Spending is the elephant in the living room, but Obama is offering up no plans to trim it, and few news outlets are doing much to make voters aware of the severity of this problem."

"That is a good thought. Regardless of whether you are a Republican or a Democrat, we will all go down together. Any sixth-grader can see we are on an unsustainable spending path that is going to blow up in our faces in the very near future."

"So how do we come together to make our legislators address these problems? Americans are more divided now than they have been in many years."

"Well, if more people would engage in civil conversations like we just did, that would be a good place to start."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR Contributor Tom Purcell, author of 'Misadventures of a 1970's Childhood,' is a nationally syndicated columnist. Comment by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2013, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles

Quantcast