Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan 25, 2013/ 14 Shevat, 5773

CBS News Political Director to Barack Obama: Destroy the GOP

By Bernard Goldberg



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | John Dickerson is the political director at CBS News. It's an important and prestigious position because the political director's observations — on the air and in internal conversations with correspondents and producers — influence how political events, like presidential elections, are covered. The political director at a mainstream news organization like CBS News has to be impartial, fair and objective.

But John Dickerson has another job. This one is at the liberal online magazine Slate, where his title "chief political correspondent." In that role, he can write columns and offer opinions, which in the news business often masquerade as "analysis." Whatever you call it, it's not down the middle, just the facts ma'am reporting.

The other day Dickerson wrote a piece for Slate under the catchy headline, "Go for the Throat!" The sub-headline was more explicit. It read: "Why if he wants to transform American politics, Obama must declare war on the Republican Party."

The headline was certainly provocative — aimed, as all headlines are, at drawing a crowd. But it was also an accurate description of Dickerson's column. In it, he seems to be giving President Barack Obama advice on what he has to do in his second term if he wants to leave a lasting legacy.

Here's part of what Dickerson wrote:

"Enhancing the president's legacy requires something more than simply the clever application of predictable stratagems. Washington's partisan rancor, the size of the problems facing government, and the limited amount of time before Obama is a lame duck all point to a single conclusion: The president who came into office speaking in lofty terms about bipartisanship and cooperation can only cement his legacy if he destroys the GOP. If he wants to transform American politics, he must go for the throat."

It sounds like something David Axelrod, the president's political hatchet man, would advise his boss. That should have been a warning bell to Dickerson. It wasn't.

"Obama's only remaining option is to pulverize," he continued. "Whether he succeeds in passing legislation or not, given his ambitions, his goal should be to delegitimize his opponents. Through a series of clarifying fights over controversial issues, he can force Republicans to either side with their coalition's most extreme elements or cause a rift in the party that will leave it, at least temporarily, in disarray."

Let's review: John Dickerson is advising President Obama to destroy the GOP, to go for the throat, to pulverize Republicans, to delegitimize them, and to leave them in disarray.

And his day job is political director of CBS News.

As you might imagine, Dickerson's column got more than a few conservatives riled up. And that prompted Dickerson to write a second piece, saying — take a guess? — that those dopey conservatives got it all wrong, that he wasn't advising the president about anything, that he was just analyzing the situation.

The new piece, under the headline, "They Hate Me, They Really Hate Me" says this: "For me, this was a math problem with an unmistakable conclusion. Some people thought I was giving the president my personal advice. No. My goal was to make a compelling argument based on the facts. This is the only plausible path for a bold, game-changing second term for a president who has positioned himself the way President Obama has."

So Dickerson wasn't giving Mr. Obama advice at all. He was simply doing math and coming to an unmistakable conclusion: If the president wants to be bold, he must destroy Republicans. Now I get it.

"Some assume I hate Republicans," he also wrote. "This latter charge will confuse my close relations, who are not only proud conservatives but among Fox News' most ardent fans ."

How in the world could we have thought that John Dickerson hates Republicans? Where did we ever get such a crazy idea? After all, he has close relatives who are Republicans. Maybe, John, it was because you said that Barack Obama should go for the throats of Republicans and pulverize them.

I remember way back in 1996 when I wrote a piece for the Wall Street Journal about liberal bias in the media, an op-ed that touched off the media version of World War III. Dan Rather, Bob Schieffer, their nominal bosses in the front office, and even my fellow reporters had plenty to say to the press about what I had done — and none of it was good. One colleague actually called me a "traitor" — and that was one of the nicer things they said about me.

Pointing out something obvious — that liberal bias permeates network news — was a crime against humanity as far as my CBS News colleagues were concerned, a crime worthy of public condemnation. But when their political director advises the president to destroy his opponents, that doesn't even warrant a yawn — not from Scott Pelley, the anchor of the CBS Evening News, not from Mr. Schieffer who is still there, not from anybody!

Maybe something is going on behind the scenes. Let's hope so. I'm told the new management of the news division is well aware of the liberal culture of the place — and doesn't like it. I'm told they're trying to make CBS News more balanced and less biased. All I can say to that is good luck. They're going to need it, so ingrained is the liberal culture at CBS (and the other networks).

But right now CBS News has a problem with Mr. Dickerson. He's either a political director who doesn't take sides or he's a political columnist who does. Being both is not a viable option, not for an organization that wants to be taken seriously as honest, objective and fair.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment by clicking here.

JWR contributor Bernard Goldberg, the television news reporter and author of several bestselling books, among them, Bias, a New York Times number one bestseller about how the media distort the news. He is widely seen as one of the most original writers and thinkers in broadcast journalism. Mr. Goldberg covered stories all over the world for CBS News and has won 10 Emmy awards for excellence in journalism. He now reports for the widely acclaimed HBO broadcast Real Sports.

He is a graduate of Rutgers University, New Brunswick, New Jersey and a member of the school's Hall of Distinguished Alumni and proprietor of BernardGoldberg.com.


Previously:


01/21/13: Just a Thought . . .
01/15/13: Al Gore is No Run of the Mill Hypocrite
01/14/13: The High Cost of Obama's America
01/08/13: Another Reason Libs Make Me Laugh
01/07/13: Al Gore Hates Oil But Loves Oil Money
12/31/12: Memo to GOP: Make Obama Own the Mess He's Created
12/24/12: GOP In More Trouble Than They Probably Know
12/18/12: Taking on Guns Will Be the Easy Part
12/17/12: When Obama's Words Mean Nothing
12/10/12: Do You Believe in Magic?
12/04/12: Obama and the Dolts Deserve Each Other
11/27/12: When the Ends Justify the Meanness
11/20/12: Our Mesmerizer-in-Chief
11/19/12: This Pretty Much Sums It Up . . .
11/12/12: Santa Claus and the GOP Civil War
11/07/12: Obama Wins . . . and Loses
11/01/12: Out on a Limb, Predicting A Big Victory For . . .
11/01/12: Should Mitt Talk to Bill?
10/30/12: Really Dumb Conservatives . . .
10/23/12: Debate #3: How Much Does Foreign Policy Matter If You Can't Find a Job?
10/22/12: When Conservatives Are As Dopey as Liberals . . .
10/19/12: Journalists' Who Don't Even Try to Hide Their Bias
10/17/12: Obama Stopped the Bleeding --- But Was That Enough to Change the Momentum?
10/15/12: No Winner in the Debate --- But Maybe a Loser
10/08/12: The October Surprise
10/04/12: Civil War in the GOP Could Go Nuclear on Nov 7
10/01/12: Even If He Wins, Obama Will Lose
09/27/12: Obama Picks Up a Crucial Demographic
09/26/12: If Obama Thinks He Inherited a Mess Four Years Ago . . .
09/24/12: A Good Way to Kill Free Speech
08/30/12: Facts I Have Uncovered About the Real Mitt Romney
08/23/12: Hope and Change, R.I.P.s
08/16/12: Who's Smarter: Joe Biden or Yogi Berra?
08/13/12: His Silence Makes Him Complicit
08/07/12: Did You Know that Harry Reid Got Rich Pimping Out HOs?
08/02/12: Like Birds on a Telephone Wire
07/30/12: What Me Worry? YES!
07/26/27: The Mystery Continues --- A Tale of Two Polls
07/16/27: We've Set a Low Bar for 'Courage'
07/11/27: Will Class Warfare Work?
07/09/27: A Brave New World
07/02/27: Now the Fun Really Starts
06/19/27: You Can't Make This Stuff Up . . .
06/19/12: I Would Have Fired Him Before He Got Back to the Office
06/12/12: Time to Crush the Myth about Gender Pay Inequality
06/06/12: The Desperate Campaign of Barack Obama
06/01/12: Hey Fatso! Listen Up!
05/25/12: Going After the Stupid Vote
05/22/12: The X Factor(s)!
05/15/12: Obama Has a Halo; Newsweek Has No Shame
05/10/12: Authoritarians on Campus
05/08/12: Obama's Path to Victory: Divide and Conquer
05/01/12: President Cool Meets Reality
04/25/12: Why Media Bias Matters
04/17/12: NYT: At It Again
04/13/12: Kissing up to the Rev. Al
04/10/12: This Just In: War Breaks Out --- Thank You, Lord
04/03/12: In Cold Blood?
03/27/12: Trayvon Martin and Media Hypocrisy
03/26/12: Time to Go, Rick
03/22/12: Obama's Mantra: Don't Blame Me
03/19/12: The U.N. Human Rights Council --- and other Jokes
03/13/12: Bias in the News: Blame it on Their Zip Code
03/06/12: Thank Heaven for Rich People --- a Second Look
02/29/12: Some Free Advice for the Republican Field
02/28/12: Do We Have a Right to Lie?
02/16/12: Can Obama Win Re-Election by Promising Free Stuff?
02/06/12: The 5 Stages of Mitt
02/02/12: Florida Has Spoken; Cue the Fat Lady
01/30/12: The Other Global Warming Story
01/26/12: They See Racists Everywhere . . .
01/24/12: The Arrogant and Clueless Mainstream Media
01/23/12: Gingrich Wins SC --- Media Help Big Time
01/18/12: A New Entry for 100 People Who Are Screwing Up America
01/12/12: The Dream Ticket Could Be a Conservative Nightmare
01/11/12: Now 'Anybody But Romney' Has a Name
12/30/11: I Have a Confession to Make . . .
12/27/11: Know When to Hold 'em and Know When to Fold 'em
12/20/11: NBC News, the KKK and the State of Journalism
12/19/11: Mitt and Newt: Two Rich Guys Arguing Over Money
12/13/11: Donald Trump Is the Greatest; Just Ask Him
12/12/11: Rob Peter to Pay Paul: Bad Economics! Good Politics?
12/07/11: Yeah . . . and Fish Don't Know They're Wet, Either
12/06/11: Did the Media Play Fair with Herman Cain?
12/05/11: Obama to Blue-Collar America: Adios!
11/29/11: We Can Stop the Crazy Train Before It Gets to Greece
11/22/11: Who Can Beat Obama?
11/15/11: The Dumbest Media Question I've Ever Heard
11/09/11: What If Herman Cain Did It?
11/08/11: What If Herman Cain Were a Lib?
11/02/11: Who Can Beat Obama?
11/01/11: We're Approaching the Tipping Point
10/25/11: A Response to the Angry Purists
10/18/11: They're Waiting for Reagan to Hit the Campaign Trail
10/12/11: Read This!!! --- But Only If You Have Nothing Better To Do
10/04/11: Can Obama Win Re-Election?
09/27/11: It's NOT the Economy Stupid, It's Theology
09/20/11: Bad News on the Doorstep
09/09/11: Hypocrisy!
09/06/11: Back to the Future
08/24/11: Hillary vs. Obama in 2012? It'll Never Happen --- I Don't Think
08/22/11: Warning: Conservatives May Be Harmful to Your Mental Health
08/17/11: Warren Buffett, Coddled Billionaire
08/11/11: Too Much Balance in the Media?
08/04/11: All Aboard the Crazy Train
08/01/11: Liberal Hate Speech
07/25/11: With All Due Respect, Go Fly a Kite
07/20/11: Who Is A ‘Natural Born Citizen’?
07/18/11: Guess Who's Not Paying Their Fair Share
07/12/11: Against More Taxes? You May Be a Terrorist!
07/11/11: Casey Anthony: The TV Show
07/06/11: Standards and Double Standards at MSNBC
06/29/11: Is Jon Stewart A Racist?
06/21/11: Let's Play the Race Card --- Just for Fun Of Course
06/20/11: Sarah Palin and Weiner's Weiner
06/03/11: Memo to GOP: Turn Mr. Obama into Mr. Yesterday
05/20/11: I Get Letters From People Who Should Be Locked Up
05/09/11: Is ‘Torture’ Ever Justified?
05/02/11: The Promiscuous Use of the R Word
04/19/11: The Man Behind the Million Dollar Smile
04/12/11: What's the Difference Between Libs in Politics and Libs in the Media?
04/08/11: An Idea Whose Time Has Come — and Gone
03/28/11: The Pundits Are Driving Me Crazy --- And You Thought Qadaffi Is Nuts
03/14/11: No Liberal Bias at NPR — Just Ask NPR
03/10/11: The media's frustration
03/01/11: Progressives Lost in Time . . .
02/23/11: The Lamestreams Strike Again --- This Time in Madison
02/03/11: You MUST Own a Gun --- Or Else!
01/20/11: It Was Horrible, I tell you … HORRIBLE!
01/11/11: Here We Go Again . . .
01/06/11: You Go, Oprah
12/28/10: A Year-Ender --- The MSM and Obama's Fall from Grace 12/14/10: Thank Heaven for Rich People

12/02/10: The Phony Nobility of Wikileaks

© 2011, Bernard Goldberg

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles