Home
In this issue
April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan 16, 2012/ 21Teves, 5772

Capitalism on trial

By Star Parker




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | According to a new Pew Research Center survey, 66 percent of respondents agree that there are "very strong" or "strong" conflicts between rich and poor in America. This is up from 47 percent that agreed with this two years ago.

In a Gallup poll last October, 52 percent said they trust the "ideas and opinions" of President Barack Obama for creating jobs compared to 45 percent that said they trust executives of major corporations.

The point is, sadly, there is mistrust in America about the very thing that any conservative will tell you is the mother's milk of our country -- freedom and free enterprise.

Mistrust in our country about free enterprise has always been a problem but never more than now.

Why? Two important reasons.

First, we have never had a left wing ideologue occupying the White House like we have today. The man is serious and committed.

He told Americans he would change the country, and change it he has.

Now he is about to run for a second term with no pretensions about who he is. He is going to run on a platform of so-called fairness and against what he will label unbridled, merciless capitalism.

Republicans will have their work cut out to defend business and freedom against this onslaught, particularly in today's environment of mistrust about these very things.

Second, our nation is at a genuine crossroads. Even if we could scale back the trillions in new spending that Obama has larded into our federal budget, we would still be in trouble.

Government has taken over major parts of American life and to regain our vitality, significant reforms must be made.

Even if Obamacare is repealed, American health care is still in crisis.

We'll need creative market based reforms to alter the way Americans get their health care.

Our entitlement morass can only be fixed with market-based reforms that involve phase out of government and phase in of ownership and choice.

Reforms of major areas of American life where Americans have grown accustomed to the heavy hand of government will be impossible if a large percentage of our population is mistrustful of free markets and business.

To get this kind of change, leadership that inspires trust in free enterprise is essential.

There's good reason for skepticism when former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney showcases his business background as the reason he will inspire this kind of trust.

America's biggest and most powerful businesses are notoriously unreliable defenders of free markets. They have a deserved reputation for being unprincipled.

Take Romney's own former company Bain.

Bain executives have made many large political contributions to members of Congress since 2000. Among the 29 who received the most money from Bain, 26 were Democrats.

Bain executives generously supported champions of big government including former Rep. Anthony Weiner of New York, Sen. Al Franken of Minnesota, Sen. John Kerry of Massachusetts and the late Sen. Ted Kennedy of Massachusetts.

Executive ranks of Bain, the bastion of capitalism that Romney led for 25 years, are populated by left wing Democrats.

Businessmen may roll their eyes when Rep. James Clyburn, D-S.C., former head of the Congressional Black Caucus, says, as he did the other day, that one of America's most notorious crooks, Bernie Madoff, did what he did "in the name of capitalism."

But, unfortunately, Clyburn expresses the sentiments of many blacks.

And corporate America enables this through the millions it pours into left wing organizations -- the Congressional Black Caucus, the NAACP and the National Urban League.

American big businessmen are generally about expediency, not principles.

Expedient better describes Romney than moderate or conservative.

He may be saying what sounds good now. But it's the expedient thing to do.

Unprincipled business leaders helped lead us into the mess we're in today.

More expediency is not going to get us out of it.

Only principled leadership that inspires trust in free enterprise and capitalism will.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment by clicking here.

Star Parker is an author and president of CURE, Center for Urban Renewal and Education.



Previously:


01/09/11: NAACP plantation masters play race card again
01/02/11: Youths' support for Ron Paul is misplaced
12/26/11: In search of an ambiguous conservative leader
12/19/11: Thank U.S. troops, notably wounded warriors
12/12/11: Land of the envious and home of the victim
12/05/11: Payroll tax ‘cut’ is another welfare scam
11/28/11: Pray every day that America does not lose its way
11/21/11: We're ignoring the Constitution
11/14/11: The central issue of our time will define the 2012 presidential election
11/07/11: Separation of . . . morality and economy?
10/31/11: Every American should listen to Paul Ryan
10/24/11: Disrespect for life and disrespect for property go hand in hand
10/17/11:The right argument for Cain
10/10/11: Occupy Wall Street: More from the culture of narcissism
10/03/11: Why so many blacks continue to fail
09/26/11: So many GOP debates, so few candidate revelations
09/19/11: The the last vestige of the triumph of hope over experience is throwing itself a party. They'll be passing out palms-up portions of pity, but few solutions
09/12/11: I'll defend Perry on Social Security Ponzi scheme
09/05/11: Marco Rubio's Courageous speech
08/28/11: The Steve Jobs/Martin Luther King Jr. Connection
08/19/11: Blacks' dilemma with Obama





© 2011, SCRIPPS HOWARD NEWS SERVICE

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles