Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan 3, 2012/ 8 Teves, 5772

The Golden Globes are meaningless

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The Golden Globes mean nothing.

Oh, you want an explanation?

Before we start, I should acknowledge my long-standing dislike for the Globes and the small group that votes for them - the Hollywood Foreign Press Association of Schmoozing Journalists.

I don't dismiss them because they once threw me bodily out of one of their press conferences, even though I had been invited by HBO, which organized the press conference. These foreign journalists don't like to share their free buffets with American journalists.

In fact, the entire incident amused me, as does their habit of forcing their interview subjects to pose with each of them individually so that they can send the photos back to their editors to prove that they're actually working in Los Angeles and not just eating endless free buffets.

My problem with the organization is that I question the motives behind some of their selections, which were announced Thursday in an early morning ceremony.

I believe they make some selections based solely on star power so that they will guarantee a star-studded turnout for their annual televised Golden Globes party. I also believe they make certain selections based on which stars show up for their press conferences, and which studios paid for their buffets.

But I have digressed from my annual Golden Globes rant. When I said that the Golden Globes mean nothing, I meant that they mean nothing of permanence in the minds of people in Hollywood.

They certainly mean something for the next month or so because studios use the Globes to sell tickets to movies that might have been overlooked in the crush of the holiday season, and actors and actresses use them to stimulate their Oscar campaigns.

And that in a nutshell is the problem with the Golden Globes. They are not the Oscars.

The only time people in Hollywood mention their Golden Globe win is during the nine days between the Golden Globes telecast and the morning the Oscar nominations are announced. Once we are in Oscar season, the Golden Globes are forgotten like a day-old buffet.

The reason is that people in Hollywood have a bit of an ego. Did that really surprise you?

They enjoy the life afforded them by success in movies. Such a life brings an obscene amount of money, gorgeous homes and travel in private jets. It's a good life.

But the creature comforts that come with a movie star's existence are not enough for these people. It's never enough for these people.

They are not as shallow as you might assume. Yes, they live in the moment, but they also think about their legacy, and that's why the Golden Globes mean nothing.

I call it the "Celebrity Obituary Effect."

While actors and actresses enjoy being recognized in the moment, they care more about how they are going to be remembered when they're gone.

When a celebrity dies, they are never - let me repeat that, NEVER - referred to as "Golden Globe-winning actor (fill in the name) drove off a cliff in the Hollywood Hills."

However, all you have to do is get nominated for an Academy Award, and you are forever anointed with the title "Oscar-nominated actor." An Oscar win is even better.

Trust me on this; I have asked dozens of Oscar-winning and Oscar-nominated actors and actresses about this, and they all accept the existence of the Celebrity Obituary Effect, although I'm probably the only person on the planet who uses that name to describe it.

We are a nation without an official royal family (the Kardashians don't count), so the privileged class in Hollywood can't call themselves a Count or a Princess, without leaving the profession and moving to a principality somewhere.

Therefore, they hunger for the title "Oscar-winning," and will settle for the lesser "Oscar-nominated" if necessary.

But "Golden Globe-nominated" or "Screen Actor's Guild-nominated" or "National Board of Review-nominated?" Not likely.

However, I don't want to spoil the party. Just because the Golden Globes mean nothing to the people who are winning them doesn't mean that you can't enjoy the three-hour telecast, which will air Jan. 15 on NBC.

Although the awards are meaningless in the grand scheme of things, the annual show is known as "the best awards party of the year." Some of that hype comes from NBC, of course, but much of the hype comes from fawning TV journalists who want to make sure they get invited to the party. Nobody wants to offend the Hollywood Foreign Press Association of Schmoozing Journalists in fear that the group will rescind the invitation.

And why is it such a good party? It's certainly not the significance of the award that makes the night so special. No, the reason that the Golden Globes telecast seems like so much more fun than the Oscars telecast is pretty basic.

They serve alcohol at the Golden Globes.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

The 10 Most Annoying Celebrities of 2011
The funniest comedy teams
Fake celebrities ignite real controversy
Hollywood: Stop spoiling our movies
Mob expert reveals his favorite gangster flicks
Good riddance, Harry Potter
The coolest car movies ever made
Our favorite teacher movies
Are women funny?
Our special snarky summer movie guide
The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles