Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan 26 , 2012/ 2 Shevat, 5772

20 celebrity questions that must be answered in 2012

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) I promise that I have compiled my last list of anything remotely associated with 2011.

But I never promised anything about 2012.

Following that logic, I have compiled my first list of the new year. I'm taking a wild guess that it won't be my last.

The year 2011 ended with a flurry of unanswered questions, so allow me to suggest the 20 questions that I would like to see answered in 2012. I'm not demanding answers, but I would love to get at least a few of these burning questions answered. Is that too much to ask? (By the way, that wasn't one of the questions on the list.)

Here are the 20 questions that we hope will be addressed in 2012

1. Will we find out why Regis Philbin really left his popular morning talk show? I'm sorry, but I'm not buying any version of the "I was ready to move on" scenario. I believe Regis was forced out, and I'll continue to believe that until I hear otherwise from Regis. I have nothing against Kelly - any Jersey girl who quotes "The Godfather" is OK in my book - but the show has suffered since the host's departure.

2. Will we ever find out whether Kim Kardashian's 72-day marriage to basketball player Kris Humphries was a scam? My gut instinct was scam, but then watching some of the episodes of the TV show since the break-up has convinced me that these were two clueless people who entered into a relationship without thinking.

3. Can Charlie Sheen control himself long enough to mount a comeback in his new TV series "Anger Management?" There is a very old profession banking on it.

4. Is this the year that Taylor Swift stops acting surprised every time she wins an award? Come on, Taylor. You're very talented, and you must know it by now.

5. How many supermodels will Leonardo DiCaprio date this year? How many supermodels are there?

6. How many times will Steven Tyler be forced to issue a public apology for lecherous remarks made as an "American Idol" judge? As many times as it helps to boost ratings.

7. Will Kristen Stewart ever smile? For a woman who starred in one of the biggest movie franchises of all time ("Twilight"), she looks like she is in constant pain.

8. How many weeks before a movie will be anointed as the "Best movie of the year" in an ad? We could ask the question this way - "Will movie studios finally be honest in their advertising this year, and admit that some of those favorable quotes are written by dishonest hacks who want to curry favor from the studios in exchange for free trips to exotic locations?"

9. How will the world survive an entire year without a new "Harry Potter" movie? Very well, thank you.

10. Now that HBO's "Boardwalk Empire" knocked off its brightest young star, how long before Jon Cryer's character kills Ashton Kutcher on "Two and a Half Men?" The sooner, the better.

11. How many times will Lindsay Lohan be shown on the news entering a courtroom this year? How many days is the court in session?

12. Is it possible that Nancy Grace will never dance on television again? One can hope.

13. Can the decision to bring Billy Crystal back as host of the Oscars possibly live up to the public's high expectations? Nobody could meet those expectations, except a reincarnated Johnny Carson.

14. Will we find out what happened between Jerry Lewis and the Muscular Dystrophy Association that led to his dismissal as host of the annual Labor Day telethon? It makes no sense, so the story has to be pretty good.

15. Can Emma Stone get any cuter? It's probably not possible, and we hope she doesn't get any cuter because we're not sure how many more of those creepy messages from Jim Carrey we can take.

16. How many careers will be damaged by celebrities who either forget that microphones are always turned on, or that there is always a cell phone camera in the room? Some people just never learn.

17. Will Brad Pitt ever win an Oscar, or must he continue to suffer through another year of that hellish life he leads with Angelina Jolie? Yeah, we don't care if he wins, either.

18. Can Piers Morgan survive the British phone hacking scandal? We haven't hacked into the former tabloid editor's secret text messages, but we suspect that we haven't heard the last of this matter.

19. Will Hollywood smarten up and stop shooting itself in the foot by releasing too many quality movies in the same week next December? No.

20. Is this the year that the media stops covering celebrities so obsessively? We will stop obsessing when you stop obsessing.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

The Golden Globes are meaningless
The 10 Most Annoying Celebrities of 2011
The funniest comedy teams
Fake celebrities ignite real controversy
Hollywood: Stop spoiling our movies
Mob expert reveals his favorite gangster flicks
Good riddance, Harry Potter
The coolest car movies ever made
Our favorite teacher movies
Are women funny?
Our special snarky summer movie guide
The 10 most pressing show biz questions
Readers weigh in on the royal wedding
The royal wedding: I don't get it
Readers reach verdict on lawyer column
Our favorite lawyer movies ever
Readers pick their worst Oscar winners
The 10 worst best pictures ever
25 hit-man movies to die for
The 10 greatest sidekicks ever
The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles