Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 28, 2011 23 Shevat, 5771

Is Obama Now a Tower of Jell-O?

By Roger Simon




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The Democratic wing of the Democratic Party has left the building. The two-fisted, no sleeping with the enemy, fighting for what we believe members of the party have been shown the door, and President Barack Obama has slammed it shut behind them.

In his State of the Union address Tuesday, the president made clear that compromise, not fighting, is the order of the day, not just in the future, but retroactively to the past.

Remember that big health care bill the Democrats fought so hard to pass last year? The bill that cost some of the Democrats their jobs, which they were willing to sacrifice for the good of their fellow citizens?

Remember the bill that was Barack Obama's great achievement, accomplishing what no president had ever accomplished before, putting him in the history books along with Franklin Roosevelt's passage of Social Security and Lyndon Johnson's passage of Medicare?

Well, forget about it. President Obama has turned into a tower of Jell-O when it comes to defending it.

"Now, I've heard rumors that a few of you still have some concerns about the new health care law," Obama said. "So let me be the first to say that anything can be improved."

The president doesn't want to re-fight the battle over the bill, but instead "let's fix what needs fixing and move forward," he said.

Fix what needs fixing? I have a feeling the president doesn't mean he is going to fight for a public option, which is what the liberals in his party wanted. I have a feeling he means he wants to fix what the Republicans think needs fixing.

I am baffled as to why so many commentators were so dazzled by this speech. No, scratch that, I am not baffled. It was a dazzling speech. It was designed to be a dazzling speech.

But when you dig the stardust out of your eyes, what do you find? You find a beginning that somberly and genuinely honored Gabby Giffords and the others who were gunned down in Tucson, Ariz., just two-and-a-half weeks ago.

But do you find a single word about gun control? Do you see any attempt to use the public outrage over the six dead and 13 wounded to make this country safer and try to prevent such slaughter in the future?

You do not. Because that would be controversial. That would be a fight. Robert Gibbs, the White House spokesman, assured reporters Wednesday: "I wouldn't rule out that at some point the president talks about the issues surrounding gun violence. I don't have a timetable or obviously what he would say, but I wouldn't rule that out in the future."

So we do not know what the president will say about guns or when he will say it. All we do know is that he did not want to shine the spotlight of a State of the Union address on the issue.

I am not saying the president did not propose or mention some good things. He did. But most were carefully balanced: He supports gays in the military, but in return he wants military recruiters on campuses.

He wants to keep workers safe, but he doesn't want unnecessary burdens on business.

He wants to lower the corporate tax rate, but he wants to do this by eliminating loopholes.

It reminded me of the old joke by Harry Truman about how he wanted a one-handed economist, because his economists were always saying, "On the one hand, but on the other."

President Obama wants to protect Medicare and Medicaid, but he wants to slow their rising costs and he is willing to throw the Republicans a big bone: medical malpractice reform "to rein in frivolous lawsuits."

There was a lot of important talk about spending and deficits and numbers. But how about some different numbers: How about a sentence or two about our epidemic of military suicides, which reached 334 in 2009, a higher number than those killed in combat in Afghanistan?

And how about the number of U.S. troops killed by IEDs in Afghanistan in 2010, which rose by 60 percent over 2009 and amounted to 268 killed and more than 3,360 injured, an increase of 178 percent.

The Democratic wing of the Democratic Party was a peace wing, but there isn't really a peace wing anymore (unless you count Bill Maher and a few others with the guts to continue to talk about the issue). And when you hear how U.S. troops will still be in Afghanistan in 2014, you do the math from the paragraphs above and pause for a moment to consider all those families whose loved ones will be killed or injured.

But we didn't hear about those numbers Tuesday night. They were beneath the dignity of a State of the Union address.

The ending of the address was pure Obama: "The idea of America endures. Our destiny remains our choice. And tonight, more than two centuries later, it's because of our people that our future is hopeful, our journey goes forward, and the state of our union is strong."

It was upbeat, emotional, sincere … and absolutely dazzling.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and in the media consider "must reading." Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on Roger Simon's column by clicking here.


Roger Simon Archives


© 2009, Creators Syndicate