Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 13, 2011 / 8 Shevat, 5771

The 10 greatest sidekicks ever

By Barry Koltnow




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | A few weeks ago, I was invited to an early screening of the new costumed superhero movie "The Green Hornet," which opens Jan. 14.

As I watched it, my mind wandered a bit and I started to think about Barney Fife.

That doesn't happen a lot to me. In fact, I can't remember the last time I sat in a movie theater and thought about Barney Fife.

This might be a good time to explain because I swear that there is a connection, however tenuous, between Sheriff Andy Taylor's bumbling but lovable deputy and the crusading publisher Britt Reid, who dons a costume to become the avenging crime-fighter Green Hornet.

And that connection is Kato.

You remember Kato, don't you? Played most famously by the late Bruce Lee on the mid-'60s TV show "The Green Hornet," he served as Reid's valet by day, and as sidekick to Reid's Green Hornet at night. Lee's portrayal is credited with kicking off the intense interest in martial arts that has run unabated in this country ever since.

Kato, who is played by Jay Chou in the new film, is certainly one of the greatest sidekicks ever created. But does he make our list of the top 10 fictional sidekicks of all time?

Before we start, must I remind you that the late Ed McMahan was not a fictional character? Johnny Carson's second banana certainly ranks at the top of any list of the greatest real-life sidekicks of all time, but we're maintaining a strictly fictional stance.

And that brings me to Pat Buttram, Gene Autry's sidekick. He was kind of a fictional character, but his real name was also Pat Buttram, so I have always been very confused. Therefore, I chose to leave him off the list but I want to honor the great sidekick by mentioning him here. Autry, the "Singing Cowboy," owned Orange County's baseball team before the guy who insulted the entire county by changing the team's name.

Now, on with the list of the 10 greatest sidekicks of all time:

10. Chewbacca: If one were to listen to any "Star Wars" geek for any length of time — and who would really want to — you might think that this overgrown shaggy dog was one of the eight wonders of the universe. He's not, but I agree that Chewie proved an able sidekick to the dashing Han Solo on the Millennium Falcon.

9. Kato: The Green Hornet wouldn't make it through a single night of crime-fighting if not for his martial artist sidekick.

8. Garth Algar: Shwiiiiing. There would be no "Wayne's World" if not for Wayne Campbell's best friend, sidekick and cable show co-host.

7. Tattoo: Played by Herve Villechaize on the TV show "Fantasy Island," the diminutive actor was sidekick to the mysterious Mr. Roarke. He was very good at pointing out "de plane, de plane."

6. Dr. Watson: Who would Sherlock Holmes bounce ideas off of if not for his trusty sidekick?

5. Ethel Mertz: Without Ethel, Lucy Ricardo would have been arrested. Ethel was Lucy's partner in crime, but also her conscience.

4. Robin: Unlike the relationship between The Green Hornet and Kato, Batman would get along fine without Robin. Having said that, it's always nice to have someone else around in tights and a mask so it's trick or treat every night.

3. Ed Norton: We're getting in rarified air now. These last three are practically interchangeable, in that they represent everything perfect about sidekicks. In Norton's case, Ralph Kramden would just be an obnoxious, abusive loudmouth without the great Ed Norton. Close your eyes and imagine Norton preparing to do something with his hands, taking so long that Kramden loses it. Hysterical.

2. Barney Fife: There is a reason that this show runs continually on TV somewhere in the world decades after it went off the air, and the reason is Deputy Fife. Oh sure, Sheriff Taylor is a great father and a reassuring model of good, decent people, and Mayberry is an idealized place where everybody wishes they were from (even with the annoying Floyd the barber), but Don Knotts' Barney is as funny a character as ever existed on the small screen.

1. Tonto: There is a debate in some circles concerning the Lone Ranger's sidekick. Apparently, there are people who are very sensitive about the character, but I have never found him to be politically incorrect in any way. In fact, Tonto, who saved the ranger's life and nursed him back to health, is one of the most dignified and honorable characters in fiction.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.



Comment on Barry Koltnow's column by clicking here.


Previously:

The 10 biggest celebrity missteps of 2010
Who's cooler than Steve McQueen? (Answer: nobody)
The best revenge movies ever
The good old days, when celebrities weren't train wrecks
Making sport of celebrities
Youth will be served? Don't give me that trash!
A celebrity answer is no answer at all
Caution: geniuses at work



© 2010, The Orange County Register; Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles