Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 7, 2010 / 21 Teves 5770

A spreadsheet for happiness? Thanks, but I'll take the wine

By Susan Reimer




http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | What does it take to make you happy?

Apparently, most of us don't know, because there is a ton of scientific research and just plain navel-gazing out there that's supposed to help us figure it out.

Is it the music on your iPod, or an application for your iPhone? Is it a walk in nature, or is it nurture?

Is it talk therapy or music therapy? Is it time for yourself or selflessness? Is it physical exercise — or the exercise of free will?

Can you map it out on a spreadsheet and make a plan with happiness as the goal, or does it "just happen"?

Is happiness, as one researcher suggested, contagious like AIDS: The wider your network of partners, the more likely you are to catch it?

One definition of happiness might be seeing the tail end of 2009 go out the door, taking with it all the economic wreckage of the last year. Certainly the new decade could not be worse, so it must be better, right?

I thought I knew what made me happy — a yoga class to ease my muscles and my mind, wine with a girlfriend, a movie with my husband, a day off with a list of modest errands to get me out the door, garden chores that produce an honest sweat.

Apparently, happiness is much more complicated than that. We just didn't realize how difficult it is to be happy.

Puppies and kittens make people happy. So, apparently, does working with farm animals. Because we don't do it much, caring and feeding such large creatures makes us feel more confident and improves our self-esteem.

People in Hawaii are very happy. But if we all move there to be happy, we will all end up unhappy. Congestion and poor air quality make us unhappy, as evidenced by the level of unhappiness in New York and California, two places where lots of people moved because they thought they would be happy living there.

(We are pretty unhappy in Maryland, too. The state is ranked 40th out of 50 states in the happiness scale, according to British researchers. No word on the happiness level in London, however.)

Gretchen Rubin is very happy, probably because her book, titled "The Happiness Project," has just been published. The former lawyer and clerk for Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor makes the case that happiness can be achieved by sitting down with a spreadsheet and a calendar and making a month-by-month plan for achieving happiness that includes goals and subgoals.

I know people who would be happy doing that, but I know a lot more people who would be happy having wine with a girlfriend, if you know what I mean.

The folks at Apple must be happy because they've developed a "Live Happy" application for the iPhone that prompts users to express gratitude, recall a happy moment or an act of kindness and look at happy photos, presumably on their iPhone.

In this case, happiness sells for $9.99 and it comes with a smiley face.


Letter from JWR publisher


In the same way that having a mildly depressed roommate can ruin your child's freshman year in college, happiness is infectious, according to British and Harvard researchers. And they found the happiest people are those who are at the center of a large social network.

"We know people who are most susceptible to HIV are people who have lots of partners," one of the researchers told the Los Angeles Times. "This is the same thing."

Which is, of course, one way to look at happiness.

They also found that if you have a happy friend living within a half-mile, you are 42 percent more likely to be happy. But if your happy friend lives two miles away, you are only 22 percent happier.

(You know the joke: Now you have to move.)

These same researchers make the case that since people who report themselves to be happy live longer, healthier lives, happiness is a public health issue and there is a role for government in making sure people are happy.

All of which means that yoga classes are going to get really crowded with people the government has ordered to attend. And if California is any example, they will immediately become unhappy yoga students.

Or we will all be getting wine bottles in the mail instead of rebate checks.

That would make me and my girlfriends happy, though I can't speak for you.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Susan Reimer is a columnist for The Baltimore Sun. Comment by clicking here.

© 2010, The Baltimore Sun. Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles