Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 26, 2009 / 1 Shevat 5769

Is black ‘the new black’?

By Clarence Page


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Some compliments are hard to take.


Take, for example, Larry King's announcement a day after President Barack Obama's inauguration that it is now "in" to be black.


In fact, the ageless CNN talk show host announced during a conversation with journalist Bob Woodward and fellow talk show host Tavis Smiley on "Larry King Live" that his 8-year-old son Cannon "now says that he would like to be black.


Woodward and Smiley burst into what sounded to me like a slightly cautious laughter. "There's a lot of advantages to being black," King continued, beaming with fatherly pride. "Black is in. Is this a turning of the tide?"


Not to me. As a black parent, I've lived through this movie, only in reverse racial roles. When our son was four, he came home from his pre-school one day to announce that he wanted to be a "white policeman" when he grew up.


His mother and I tried not to sound shocked, despite our imagined horrors of a budding racial identity crisis damaging our son's sense of self. Besides, if you react to something shocking that your kid says, they will only say it again.


Instead I quietly reached for a how-to manual by psychiatrists James P. Comer of Yale and Alvin Poussaint of Harvard on the raising of black children. The book just happened to include a response to a black parent whose four-year-old wanted to be white.


The good doctors' remedy? "Relax," they said.


It turns out that it is quite normal for children of all races to become aware of color differences at age four, but they don't attach any value to it. It is left to us, their elders to teach them to love, hate or give everyone a fair chance to prove themselves.


And the reverse also was true, Comer and Poussaint pointed out: It is not unusual for white kids to want to be black, if their personal heroes happen to be black.


Indeed at that time 15 years ago, my son's best friend was a 5-year-old blonde-haired, blue-eyed kid in our neighborhood who was firmly convinced, as his dad put it, that "he is Michael Jordan."


For Larry, who among us older dads is challenging several records for late parenting, cross-racial tourism by kids appears to be a new experience. That would explain his amazement and his apparent ignorance of a pesky unwritten rule in today's political correctness: Let no racial praise go unpunished.


It was King's casual assertion that there's "a lot of advantages" to being black that stirred the biggest uproar of Internet chatter. A writer to the Huffington Post fumed, "(A)s soon as sonny boy gets passed over for jobs, opportunities, promotions, loans — snubbed, driven by, under-estimated, charged more, ignored by doctors, success looked at with surprise and asked constantly if he plays basketball — he'll go right back to spending his white daddy's money."


Ah, yes, as much as the world welcomes America's first president of known African descent, it is more than a little early to declare blackness to be an advantage. In fact, if he screws up, I suspect that we won't see another black president for another hundred years.


For now, I am not shocked that King's kid would think being black might give him some sort of advantage. It is a mark of our progress as Americans that today's millennial-generation kids can grow up with images of black success models like Obama as easily as I grew up with Superman and Wonder Woman.


Ironically, the more success we black Americans show in this country, the harder it becomes for us to persuade anyone that being black is such a terrible handicap. To paraphrase an old song, nobody knows the troubles they have not seen.


By now you may have noticed, dear reader, that it's hard to joke about race these days, even when the humor obviously is good-natured and free of malice. Joe Biden could tell you that. Back when the master of foot-in-mouth surprises was still a Democratic senator from Delaware, he famously derailed his own presidential campaign momentum with a well-meaning but racially naive compliment of Obama as "clean" and "articulate." What sounded like praise to Biden sounded like condescension to quite a few black Americans.


Obama didn't hold it against Biden, as evidenced by his later choice of a running mate. Yet the episode left an important lesson: We can't move into a truly post-racial future without a vocabulary that can help us to talk more frankly about our racially troubled past.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on Clarence Page's column by clicking here.

Archives

© 2007, TMS

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles