Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 30, 2009 / 5 Shevat 5769

Afghanistan is about a lot more than appearing tough

By Jack Kelly

>
Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Afghanistan has been conquered often, but subdued rarely. President Obama should keep that fact in mind.


"We have to understand that the situation is precarious and urgent here in Afghanistan," Barack Obama said in a visit to Kabul last July. "I believe this has to be our central focus, the central front, on our battle against terrorism."


Mr. Obama, then a candidate for president, said then he would increase U.S. troop strength in Afghanistan by two or three brigades (there are about 5,000 soldiers in a brigade) and step up nonmilitary aid to the Afghan government.


President Obama has taken a number of foreign policy positions different from those espoused by Candidate Obama. But this, alas, appears to be a campaign pledge he intends to keep. Defense Secretary Robert Gates told the Senate Armed Services Committee Tuesday two brigades likely will be sent to Iraq by mid-Spring, a third by mid-summer.


Since many suspect Candidate Obama took the position he took on Afghanistan principally to appear tough, so that his call for rapid withdrawal from Iraq (one of the policies on which President Obama has backtracked) wouldn't appear as a sign of weakness, I doubt he's thought this thing through.


The strategic situation in Afghanistan is that we cannot lose there as long as we maintain a major military presence. (There currently are about 47,000 allied troops in Afghanistan, or whom 31,000 are Americans.) But we cannot win so long as al Qaida and the Taliban have sanctuary in Pakistan. This sounds an awful lot like Vietnam during the Johnson administration, where U.S. troops won every battle they fought, but could not win the war because our political leadership was unwilling to strike decisive blows at the North Vietnamese homeland or at its camps in Laos and Cambodia.


"Will Afghanistan be President Obama's Vietnam, with Pakistan as Cambodia on steroids?" retired Army LtCol. Ralph Peters asked recently in his New York Post column.


We are fighting the Taliban in Afghanistan, not al Qaida, whose diminished cadre largely has decamped to Pakistan. The distinction is important. The Taliban are vicious reactionaries, but their focus is internal. They do not present the strategic threat to us that al Qaida does.


We are, moreover, fighting these disparate enemies in different ways. The war against al Qaida here has been conducted by intelligence and special operations forces. Our footprint has been light. The war against the Taliban pits our conventional forces against guerrilla forces in a land ideally suited for guerrilla warfare.


Al Qaida has been weakened significantly since 9/11. But after being driven from the cities in 2001, the strength of the Taliban has grown steadily. This is partly because we've had too few troops in Afghanistan -- a mountainous region roughly the size of Texas -- to maintain a presence in the countryside, mostly because the various tribes remember what happened to the Russians and the British.


"The tribes therefore do not want to get on the wrong side of the Taliban," said the private intelligence service STRATFOR. "That means they aid and shelter Taliban forces, and provide them intelligence on enemy movement and intentions."


Adding three more brigades won't change that equation much. STRATFOR notes, "there is no conceivable force the United States can deploy to pacify Afghanistan."


Iraq, a resource-rich land of 28 million people in the heart of the Arab world, is strategically critical. Afghanistan has been a backward bywater for thousands of years. Our only strategic interest there is to keep it from again becoming a safe haven for al Qaida. We can do that at far less cost in blood and treasure than by reprising what we did in Vietnam.


"Let's not turn Kabul into a second rate Saigon because we convinced ourselves that spending more money and sending more troops is a substitute for a strategy," LtCol. Peters warned.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JWR contributor Jack Kelly, a former Marine and Green Beret, was a deputy assistant secretary of the Air Force in the Reagan administration. Comment by clicking here.

Jack Kelly Archives


© 2008, Jack Kelly

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles