Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 2, 2007 / 12 Teves, 5767

How do we make our freeloader child pay up?; more

By Jan L. Warner & Jan Collins


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Q: During the time our oldest son was going through his divorce several years ago, my wife and I loaned him $40,000, which was what it took to pay his past due child support, his lawyer, his former wife's alimony and to keep him out of jail. While he promised fervently to repay us as soon as he "got his feet under him," apparently he is still walking on his hands because even though we delicately - and not so delicately — remind him several times a year, he always puts us off. We are in our late 70s and, in addition to needing repayment, we don't think it is fair to our other three children, all who know we made the loan.


To top things off, our oldest has just married for the third time and, you guessed, continues to live way beyond his means. Is there anything we can do short of suing him?


If not, what is the best way to even out things with our other children?


A: Assuming you did not get a written promissory note from your son that memorialized the loan transaction and established the terms or repayment, we don't think you and your wife should hold your collective breaths waiting for his ship to come in. But there is more bad news, because repayment is not the only area of concern. By making a loan of this size, you could well be taxed by the IRS for the interest your son should have been paying you.


Based on the Applicable Federal Rates - called AFRs - which are the IRS' long-term interest rates that are revised each month, you could get hit with what is called "imputed interest." At the current long-term rate of about 4-3/4 percent), in the vicinity of $2,000 could be added to your income each year even though you don't have access to the asset with which to earn the interest — a true double whammy if there ever was one.


And to make matters even worse, your estate plan may suffer. For example, if you think that you might consider the loan to be a gift to your son, don't forget that you will have to file a gift-tax return and, to the extent the gift exceeds and annual exclusion of $12,500, you will use up part of your unified credit — which could mean more estate taxes if your estate is large enough.


And if your estate is not large enough to warrant estate taxes, should you or your wife enter a nursing facility and think you have used up all of your countable assets within the next five years and make a Medicaid application, this same $40,000 will either be deemed to be a countable asset or a gift that will cause a period of Medicaid disqualification. If this is the case, you will probably have spent the vast majority of your resources, meaning that your other children could well receive less when the last of you dies or, possibly, nothing.


Given the variety of taxation and other potential difficulties you may face based on your good deed, we suggest that you approach your son about making arrangements for repayment. Assuming he can't or won't, seek competent tax and legal advice, change your wills to make sure your other children are treated as fairly as possible, and don't place your older son in the position of being a fiduciary for you, as he does not deserve to be placed in any position of trust.


Q: A nursing home is trying to discharge our 81-year-old mother, who was put there for rehabilitation after a stroke on Medicare because her coverage has run out. She has been there for 78 days, and the administrator wants our father, who is 82 and not in good health, to assume responsibility for her even though he can't take care of her and even though the nursing home knew from the first day that our parents did not have a lot of money. They told us her time was up the day after Christmas, and we had two days to get her out. But Mom still needs assistance going to the bathroom, wears diapers, can't get out of bed, and can't dress herself. Dad wants to take her home, but we think this is a mistake. What can we do?


A: The situation facing your family happens regularly to more folks than you can imagine because some facilities believe that you would not know any better than to pick up your loved one. First of all, the facility must give you 30 days notice, during which time your father had the right to apply for Medicaid. Second, the facility must have in place an "appropriate discharge plan" which, we doubt, includes sending a vulnerable woman who requires total care with an 82-year-old man who can't provide for her.


We suggest that you call an experienced lawyer immediately so that your mother's rights can be protected, and tune in next week to learn more about discharge planning.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

JAN L. WARNER received his A.B. and J.D. degrees from the University of South Carolina and earned a Master of Legal Letters (L.L.M.) in Taxation from the Emory University School of Law in Atlanta, Georgia. He is a frequent lecturer at legal education and public information programs throughout the United States. His articles have been published in national and state legal publications. Jan Collins began co-authoring Flying SoloŽ in 1989. She has more than 27 years of experience as a journalist, writer, and editor. To comment or ask a question, please click here.

Archives

© 2007, Jan Warner

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles