Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 23, 2007 / 4 Shevat, 5767

Silence is golden, except when it's not

By Marybeth Hicks



Printer Friendly Version

Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | At 2:58, I pull into the school parking lot with two minutes until the dismissal bell rings, which means only one thing. I will wait in a long line to pick up my daughter.


Usually I make it a point not to arrive on school property until 3:10 at the earliest. By then, the teachers who supervise the organized chaos known as "pickup" are ambling back to their classrooms to clean up and call it quits.


When I arrive late, I never wait. When I'm on time, I sit in my van, trapped between sport utility vehicles and "crossovers," fixing my glassy stare on the sidewalk in front of the school building, wondering why my children are nowhere to be seen.


Of course, because they know not to expect me before 3:10, they don't rush out just to stand around getting cold and watching their friends ride away.


It's a vicious cycle, to be sure, which reminds me to run late tomorrow.


But here I am today, behind said "crossover" (part SUV, part "please just don't call it a station wagon") where a DVD is playing on one of those fancy LCD screens hanging from the middle of the roof.


The movie on the player is "Cars," the 2006 Disney/ Pixar animated hit. Every so often, I notice the hand or foot of a small passenger in the back seat, who presumably is mesmerized by the images on the screen.


I know I am.


I love the movie "Cars." Not that I ever saw it, mind you, but I loved what it got me when it was released last year: two hours of peace and quiet while my four children went to the Cineplex together to see the film.


"Cars" has everything I look for in a family film — a G rating for general audiences, big stars lending their considerable talent for the entertainment of families, and an upbeat story with humor that reaches down to my 9-year-old and up to my high schoolers.


In fact, my children keep telling me I should see "Cars" because they all enjoyed it thoroughly; thus it has made my Netflix queue.


Conveniently, I'm watching the movie — albeit without sound — but even through my front windshield and the rear window of the car/movie theatre ahead of me, it's captivating.


At last the pickup line moves, and I watch as eager elementary schoolers pile into the cars of their parents, grandparents and caregivers.


The "Cars" car must have a few children to pick up because one already has climbed into the back seat, but the mom isn't inching out of the line to take off.


That's when I see the sad part of this movie.


The child who has clamored into the vehicle — a boy of no more than 8 years old who has just spent seven hours away from his mother, presumably filling his brain with new information and experiences — opens his window to shout goodbye to a friend.


He is wearing headphones.


Huge, black, padded, "do not talk to me about my day" headphones.


The line starts moving, and I spot Amy heading toward me. Her small frame is overloaded with her backpack, lunchbox and the various homework assignments she carries in her hands — as opposed to putting them in her backpack.


I use the van's sliding door button to let her in. She drops her stuff with a grunt, buckles up and says, "I had a great day." And so our chat begins.


Amy tells me about recess (always the top item on her list), homework assignments, the science lab and how she taught her friend Sarah to use the word "tubular" instead of "awesome."


I'm listening, but I'm also thinking about the boy with the headphones, driving home from school while watching "Cars." I wonder what he did at recess, whether he has homework or if he did anything interesting in class.


Mostly, though, I'm wondering if his mom will find out.


I have learned that the most crucial minutes of the day with my children are the ones in which we reunite. For this very reason, when we purchased our current van, I declined the DVD package (and let me just say I was none too popular with my crew).


Buying the media package was the only way to get the navigation system, which I wanted, but I realized the temptation to pop in movies and cruise the streets of suburbia was too great. I bought a Rand McNally road atlas instead.


Also, my children aren't exactly deprived of media on the go. We have personal DVD players and music devices with headphones, and we use them on long car trips as a way to keep the children from killing each other in the back seats, thereby annoying the adults upfront. (Even in those situations, we set limits. Who wants to spend a vacation with a media zombie?)


I know I can't compete with characters such as Lightning McQueen of "Cars" when it comes to holding a child's attention, and I know the silence I could buy has a price tag.


We all want a little peace and quiet now and then, and why not a fun film while driving around town to keep the kiddies occupied?


Then again, parenting is noisy business, and sometimes silence isn't golden. It's just silence.

Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

MAYBETH'S FIRST BOOK!
"The Perfect World Inside My Minivan -- One mom's journey through the streets of suburbia"  

Marybeth Hicks offers readers common-sense wisdom in dealing with today's culture. Her anecdotes of her husband and four children tap into universal themes that every parent can relate to and appreciate. -- Wesley Pruden, Editor-in-Chief, The Washington Times
Sales help fund JWR.

JWR contributor Marybeth Hicks, a wife of 19 years and mother of four children, lives in the Midwest. She uses her column to share her perspective on issues and experiences that shape families nationwide. To comment, please click here.


Archives




© 2006, Marybeth Hicks