Home
In this issue
April 21, 2014

Andrew Silow-Carroll: Passoverkill? Suggestions to make next year's seders even more culturally sensitive

Sara Israelsen Hartley: Seeking the Divine: An ancient connection in a new context

Christine M. Flowers: Priest's execution in Syria should be call to action

Courtnie Erickson: How to help kids accept the poor decisions of others

Lizette Borreli: A Glass Of Milk A Day Keeps Knee Arthritis At Bay

Lizette Borreli: 5 Health Conditions Your Breath Knows Before You Do

The Kosher Gourmet by Betty Rosbottom Coconut Walnut Bars' golden brown morsels are a beautifully balanced delectable delight

April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review

Weight-loss journeys

By Randy A. Salas


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | (MCT) For many, the year begins with a new resolve to lose weight, as we discussed last week in an overview of calorie counting online. For some, sharing their dieting struggles and triumphs is the motivation behind their websites. Join them on their weight-loss journeys.

www.fatguyblog.com

Greg Todd's new No More Mr. Fat Guy blog is a must read even if you're not trying to lose weight. His self-deprecating words are so humorous and good-natured that you'll be repeating them aloud to anyone close by after they ask, "What's so funny?" Take a recent entry in which he referred to a pizza-oriented blog as "porn for fat guys": "Instead of blocking visitors under the age of 18, you should have to click a button stating you're under 200 pounds before you're allowed into their site."

Start: 303.5 pounds ("to be exact").

Now: 296 pounds.

Goal: Lose 100 pounds.

Struggle: "People tell me that I don't look like I weigh 300 pounds. I guess it's that my overpowering animal magnetism distracts and confuses them. ... Frankly, I'm sick of it."

Triumph: "The more people viewing the site, the more pressure I feel to not let them down."

www.dietgirl.org

The Amazing Adventures of Dietgirl! follows the escapades of one Shauna — "a twentysomething Scotland-dwelling Aussie trying to lighten the load." She's not afraid to call it as she sees it, which might include frank language, but she's obviously onto something: She has lost more than 175 pounds since she started her blog in 2001 and is a mere 10 pounds from her target weight.

Start: 351 pounds.

Now: 175.5 pounds.

Goal: 165.5 pounds.

Struggle: "At the checkouts I glared at our bag of frozen veggies and the brown rice and the oranges and the bananas and the tuna. When you still have recent memories of Christmas puddings and roast potatoes, you don't see a cornucopia of health — you just see boredom and misery."

Triumph: "Eating healthy food and moving my lardy arse is not just for vanity and smaller jeans. It's about my HEALTH."

www.scalewhore.com

Canadian Trish might not have the best domain name for a family newspaper, but she has a great attitude that includes not just shedding pounds but working on her mental outlook, too.

Start: 209 pounds.

Now: 171 pounds.

Goal: 140 pounds.

Struggle: "I am 35, young and single. I should be out and enjoying myself. Instead I spent the better half of 2006 down on myself, gaining 30 lbs and covering up."

Triumph: "This journey is taking longer than I thought it would. However, I'm still on it."

www.thefatmanwalking.com

Steve Vaught has fallen on hard times since his much-publicized 13-month trek across the country to lose weight ended in May, capturing a global audience via his Fat Man Walking website. A book deal fell through after he spent the advance, he's working a night shift as a tow-truck driver, he's gotten divorced and he lives in a seedy hotel. (See www.startribune.com/a2150 for the San Diego Union-Tribune story.) His website has been updated infrequently because of computer problems, but he maintains a good outlook and his still-available online chronicle of his cross-country journey remains an inspiration.

Start: 410 pounds.

Now: 365 pounds.

Goal: To be happy.

Struggle: "I battle temptations everyday, sometimes winning sometimes losing. I am still struggling with weight not having found the magic cure yet."

Triumph: "In time things will develop into something as they naturally do and, as always, I will make the best of the situation."

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Randy A. Salas is a columnist for the Minneapolis Star Tribune. Do you have a favorite Web site or a question about how to find something on the Internet? Send a note by clicking here.



Previously:

Daily routines
Working without a map
Just you watch!
New year, new diet
Your mail answered
Chatting: Central characters
Wonders never cease
Secret messages
For your consideration
Freaky food forays
Best of 2006 online
Missed marketing
H.G. Wells’ legacy endures
A quest for dragons
E-mails you've sent
In the news
It's free!
Websites that help you find books that are right for you
Coping with illness
Some serious face time
Some serious face time
In reply to your e-mail ...
Turn your handwriting into a computer-based font that will allow you to churn out homespun greetings
Music for everyone
'Elusive planet' can be viewed clearly from Earth with the naked eye
Central characters
E-mail @ 35
Idle chatter
Funny money
Classic artwork in motion
For an unusual Thanksgiving
Your slip is showing
Best of the worst
Test your mind power
Remain anonymous

© 2006, Star Tribune Distributed by McClatchy-Tribune Information Services.

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles