Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 23, 2006 / 23 Teves, 5766

Depressed

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article

http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | It's the most depressing day of the year, and this year I know why.


According to MSNBC, Dr. Cliff Arnall, a specialist in seasonal disorders at the University of Cardiff in Wales, has developed a formula that determines when people are at their lowest, most miserable point.


That point is January 24th.


On January 24th, you see, the weather stinks, most people have already trashed their New Year's resolutions, and any memories of holiday cheer have long been replaced with worry over holiday bills. Dullness and hopelessness are at their peak.


Though Arnall's formula was originally designed for application in Great Britain, it certainly applies elsewhere. I'm feeling winter blues keenly in America. I'm feeling them for a variety of unpleasant reasons.


Take Republicans. A little more than a decade ago, they won power in Washington by promising to restrain spending and reign in corruption. They did both for a while, but now look at them. They're spending more dough, and enjoying more lobbyist largesse, than the Democrats ever dreamed of.


Political analyst Lawrence O'Donnell says it has to do with their desire to keep a hold on power. With a modest margin in the House, they fear the Democrats could take over at any time. So they shamelessly give favors to lobbyists to raise boatloads of campaign dough, then shamelessly give goodies to constituents in return for votes.


Our federal, state and local governments have gotten creative, too, in handing out the goodies. Some of our terrorist-fighting dough, we recently learned, was used to purchase garbage trucks in New Jersey and fund a tanning salon in Las Vegas.


I suppose first responders need a good tan in case the terrorists strike an ozone-alert day.


What's even more bizarre is that Democrats, with a straight face, are telling us they have the answers to ethics reform in Congress. They put forth a lobbying-reform plan that has more holes in it than Howard Dean's head. They say their plan will keep Congress more honest than Mother Theresa, even though the word "corruption" is the leading synonym for the word "Democrat."


And in the midst of this latest Washington sloppiness, we keep forgetting we are at war. Some people don't think the war on terror is a war at all, but a political ploy by Republicans. Some folks believe this despite what Bin Laden and the nut jobs in Iran keep telling us.


Bin Laden, it appears, just came out with another warning. He is delighted that most folks in America, except President Bush it appears, are eager to pull out of Iraq.


He said he might entertain a truce, however, so that Iraq and Afghanistan can be rebuilt. He also said that he and the boys are gearing up for some spring-time attacks in America.


Aren't words like "truce" and "attack" the kind of words people use during war? Or is it easier to put our heads in the sand and accuse Bush of being an oil-hungry liar? I guess it will take a couple of mushroom clouds in Washington and New York for Bin Laden and the boys to get their message heard.


And so January 24th is going to hit me especially hard this year.


Dr. Arnall originally developed his "misery" formula for the travel industry. He says, in fact, that one of the best things folks can do to cheer themselves up is plan a trip to some place sunny and warm.


Dr. Kathleen Hall, author of "A Life In Balance," offers other ideas. She says we should try new foods, participate in fun events with friends and family, and add color to our homes.


We should keep flowers on the kitchen table, she says, or buy a tablecloth with bright, happy colors, such as orange and yellow.


Yeah, a tablecloth ought to do it. But only if it's big enough to throw over Congress, Iran, Al Qaeda and everybody else who has got me down this year.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in in the media and Washington consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES

© 2005, Tom Purcell

Columnists

Toons

Lifestyles