Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 24, 2005 / 14 Shevat, 5765

The Nanny, the Harvard President and Maureen Dowd

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Tensions are growing in the battle of women vs. men.


Last week, the president of Harvard said innate biological differences may be the reason women don't do as well in math and science as men. He cautioned that more research is needed. And then he was assailed for having the audacity, as a university president, to comment on academic research.


The week before another item appeared. New York Times Columnist Maureen Dowd lamented that men are avoiding highly accomplished women. She said men prefer secretaries, flight attendants and nannies   —   women who will make them the center of their universe.


Both Dowd and the Harvard president are exactly right.


Decades of neurobiological research show biological differences between men and women do exist. One brain study shows that men listen with only one side of their noggin, whereas women use both. Another shows that women can listen to two separate conversations, whereas men can barely follow one.


The male brain takes in less sensory detail than a woman's, which is why it's harder for us to find items at the supermarket. It's also why we don't notice dust, which, apparently, is a collection of fine particles that settle on furniture.


With superior spatial skills, most men are better drivers than most women. Most men are better at math and science than most women. I know I can get arrested for saying this, but men and women are different.


Which brings us back to Dowd.


"Art is imitating life, turning women who seek equality into selfish narcissists and objects of rejection, rather than affection," she writes.


Maureen, Maureen, Maureen, men aren't avoiding highly accomplished women. We're avoiding highly accomplished women like you.


I spent six years in Washington, D.C., the land of highly accomplished women. These women, if you'll allow me to generalize, are passionate about their corporate careers. They eagerly log 60-hour workweeks. They are competitive, driven, ambitious.


They are neurotic, stressed out and unpleasant.


A typical date with such a lass involves: 1) listening about her job, 2) listening about her career, and, 3) listening about all the idiots who are standing in the way of her next promotion. To wit: dating a highly accomplished D.C. woman is like dating ourselves.


When a man dreams of a woman, Maureen, he dreams of a being distinctly different than himself. We long to be in the company of a soft, feminine, eloquent creature. She moves with an easiness and grace that sends an electric charge through every corpuscle in our body.


She is smarter than we are, but she listens, nurtures and reassures. Her presence fills us with peace, making our silly stresses go away. She reminds us what is important in life   —   beauty, family, charity, laughter. She reminds us how foolish, worldly and self-absorbed we usually are.


But these days, "she" has become "he." Most every television show and commercial portrays every man as a hapless idiot and every woman as the strong, smart, decisive savior. She is competitive and valiant and, like Jennifer Garner, she kicks the bejesus out of anything in her way.


We don't want women who kick, Maureen. Nothing makes a man less easy than a woman with a powerful kneecap.


I know you think you're progressive and that we are backwards, but you're wrong. In a truly progressive world, men and women will celebrate their unique differences. Women will be highly accomplished AND feminine and graceful   —   they'll even understand and appreciate how simple men really are.


Perhaps one day, university presidents will be able to discuss ANY research, even if it draws conclusions that are out of sync with the politically correct currents of the time.


But until then, we're going for the nannies, Maureen. I hope to marry one some day. In fact, I recently tried to hire one, but the nanny agency assured me I had to be a family.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and the media consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES


© 2005, Tom Purcell