Home
In this issue
December 2, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 14, 2005 / 4 Shevat, 5765

I'm a member of ‘Generation Jones’

By Tom Purcell


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | Finally, I have my own generation — Generation Jones — and it was my generation that handed President Bush a second term.


According to Jonathan Pontell, a sociologist and author, a large chunk of Baby Boomers are not Baby Boomers at all. Those of us born between 1954 and 1965 have little in common with the first wave of boomers, but nobody has articulated this fact until recently.


When boomers were indulging in drugs and free love, we were doing our homework. While they were driving around in VW Beetles and protesting the Viet Nam war, we were watching The Brady Bunch.


The boomers had reason to be idealistic, you see. Shortly before they were born, American might defeated great foes in the Great War. Our economy was booming. The future was theirs to take and run with, and, boy, did they party hearty along the way.


Our chance finally came. As we entered college, we sought to leave our own mark, but the party was over. During our lives, the idealism of Kennedy gave way to the Nixon fiasco. We had little to be idealistic about and even less desire to protest. The first wave of boomers left the country looking like the muddy grounds of Woodstock after the concert was over.


Reagan was president when I entered college and we were as practical as he. We re-embraced simple American values — hard work, thrift, worrying about the future. Few were idealistic when I was at Penn State in the early 1980's. Most kids studied engineering and accounting in order to get ahead. If anyone staged a protest, only two or three people showed up, and they came to sell hot dogs.

Donate to JWR


After college, my generation remained in the shadow of the first wave of boomers. They continued to set the trends. One trend was to abandon their youthful idealism to cash out in the 1980's and 1990's. To grab that money, the marketers created most products, movies and television shows just for them.


But something had been happening all along. My generation had been waking up. We realized we had little to do with the first wave of boomers. And as we enter middle age, we have begun speaking up. We're tired of being force fed the leftovers of the boomers ahead of us. We're tired of being hidden in the shadows.


Which brings us to the 2004 election. According to Pontell, while the pundits were looking at traditional voting patterns and trends, virtually all of them overlooked the most significant one: the Generation Jones trend.


In every swing state, the folks born between 1954 and 1965 went for Bush by sizable margins. We went for Bush for one simple reason. Kerry was THEIR candidate, the kind of fellow that made the first wave of boomers swoon.


He talked from both sides of his mouth. With an air of superiority, he lectured us on Republican greed and the country's need to sacrifice for the poor, while he lived in mansions. He reminded us his initials were JFK, too, and that he had an idealistic vision for America's future.


But we didn't buy it. We made our voice heard in huge numbers — 53 million Americans are part of Generation Jones, and many of us went for Bush. He has his peccadilloes, to be sure, but his values were more closely aligned with ours.


Interestingly, female voters in the Generation Jones era were the biggest factor in Bush's win. Whereas women in all other age groups favored Kerry, the Jones women went for Bush. As a result, in every swing state that Bush won, Generation Jones was the deciding factor.


I'm happy to learn that I'm no longer a boomer and that I have my own generation to hang my hat on now. It took us awhile, but just because middle age is overtaking us doesn't mean we can't enjoy a good party.


The Bush inauguration might do the trick.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in Washington and the media consider "must-reading". Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.


Comment on JWR Contributor Tom Purcell's column, by clicking here. To visit his web site, click here.


ARCHIVES


© 2005, Tom Purcell