Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 28, 2005 / 18 Shevat, 5765

Is the Divine just a Cosmic Party Pooper?

By Rabbi David Aaron


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


How to find our mission in life



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | I recall a cute comic strip depicting Moses coming down from Mt. Sinai with the Ten Commandments written in stone. "I've got good news and bad news," he announces to the Israelites waiting anxiously at the bottom of the mountain. "The good news is that I got Him down to ten." The crowd cheers. "The bad news is that adultery is still in."


It is not uncommon for people to think the commandments spoil the fun of life   —   that G-d is really a cosmic party pooper, and that there is a conflict of interest between man and G-d.


People think that serving G-d is demeaning; servitude implies a slave-master relationship. But that is not the real meaning of serving G-d. The opportunity to serve G-d is the greatest gift we could ever imagine. It's empowering. To serve G-d means that we can do something on behalf of G-d. It's an unbelievable honor!


The Talmud teaches that if you come close to fire, you will be warm; that the servant who comes close to the king partakes in royalty.


I've been at the home of some very, very wealthy people. I always find it so interesting that the various workers in the home   —   gardeners, caterers, hair dressers, etc.   —   live in the mansion with their boss, eat the same food, and enjoy the use of the same facilities like the pool, sauna and jacuzzi during their breaks. The workers in the palace in many ways enjoy the life of royalty. They come the closest and thereby enjoy the most intimate encounters with the king.


Working for G-d is not a diminishing experience. It's the most incredible elevation of status. If I build my business for my sake, to make money for me, it is really no big deal. But if I build my business for G-d's sake   —   if I look at what I do and I ask myself how can I promote G-d's purpose in this world; how can I bring into the world more love, peace, kindness, justice, wisdom; how can I be an instrument serving to reveal Divine qualities and ideals in the world   —   it's an unbelievable opportunity! This is the secret to a profoundly meaningful and fulfilling life.


There's an amazing song by Bob Dylan: "You're gonna have to serve somebody." Everybody's serving somebody. There's nobody in this world that isn't serving somebody else. The question is not   —   to serve or not to serve. The question is   —   who to serve?


If my life is dedicated to gaining approval from certain people, then I am always less than they are. But if my life is dedicated to G-d, then the sky's the limit to my self-worth. There is no greater mission waiting for me. There is nothing higher.


My mission on earth is not about making a lot of money. If it is, then the tee-shirt slogan is right: "The one who dies with the most toys wins." But Kabbalah teaches that we have come to this world to perform the ultimate mission   —   a mission that elevates and brings sacredness to all of life. Life without a mission is no life at all. A person who wakes up in the morning and has nothing pressing to do, after a while will wonder, "Do I really make a difference? Does my life really matter?"

YOUR MISSION
All human beings have been given a mission in this world. There is a universal mission that we are all obligated in. However, there is also a unique mission for every nation   —   United State, England, China, Israel, etc. And within each nation's mission each citizen has a special, personal mission. Sometimes you know your mission and sometimes you don't know your mission. But that doesn't mean you're not performing it.


There's a beautiful story in the Talmud about a Rabbi Tradion, who was known to be an unusually loving and caring son.


One day Rabbi Tradion became terminally ill. His mother came to the Sages and asked them to please pray for her son. "He is such an incredible son," she told them. "I don't know if there's any son in the world who honors his mother as much as my son honors me. He honors me more than enough."


The Sages responded, "Your son honors you more than enough? If your son honored you a thousand times more, it wouldn't come close to what he really should do for you."


Rabbi Tradion's mother was shocked and disturbed by the Sages' harsh words against her son. She was trying to build up a case for her son's recovery by praising his great deeds and the Sages are telling her these deeds are far from sufficient.


Why did the Sages do this? They were concerned that this mother was actually undermining her son's recovery by singing his praises. By saying, "My son has honored me more than enough," she was may be saying, although unintentionally, that her son's mission was finished in this world and he doesn't need to be here any longer.


His mother mistakenly assumed that his mission was to be a great teacher. However, the Sages knew better. They realized that Rabbi Tradion's mission on earth may very well have been to grow in honoring his mother. And if that were the case, then all his mother's praises for her loving son were actually preventing his recovery. Because if he had honored her more than enough then he had completed his mission on earth and was no longer needed.


When you complete your mission, you're out of here.


The Sages, therefore, started to argue with her, insisting that he hadn't even come close to fulfilling his mission in this world.


All in all, it is important to remember that even if you are not sure what your precise personal mission is   —   even if you don't feel like you're fulfilling your mission   —   you may in fact be on target. This is one of the most important lessons of the Torah (Bible) and Kabbalah. Each and every one of us has a Divine purpose and mission on earth.

FINDING ONE'S LIFE CALLING
By now I am sure you are wondering how you can find out what is your calling and mission. The Vilna Gaon, who was one of the greatest sages of the Jewish people in the 18th century, tells us how. He quotes Ecclesiastes   —   "In all your ways know G-d and He will straighten your path"   —   and explains the difference between a "way" and a "path" like this: A "way" is known to everyone. It's the highway. Everyone knows where the highway is. It's a public thoroughfare. But a "path" is off the beaten track. A path is not public. It is the private and unique way for the individual.


There are certain ways that we serve G-d that are common to us all. These ways are not unique to any of us. They are the highways of life. You can't get anywhere unless you get on those highways. However, once you get on the public highway, suddenly you will see a sign that says, "David   —   exit 3 miles left." That is where David turns off to continue his journey to fulfill his mission. Now Jan who was also on the highway sees David get off and feels a little jealous. "Lucky guy! He found his path." But with some patience Jan plods forward until she discovers her path. And sure enough there's a sign for her too. "Jan, 5 miles exit left."


Everyone has a unique path waiting for them to journey upon. To find it we've got to get on the highway. Collectively we have a mission. It's the highway. The collective mission of human beings is to become more and more humane.


Each nation has a mission. One nation may be responsible to lead the advancement of technology in the world. Another perhaps is meant to lead research and development in the field of medicine. Another perhaps is called upon to increase art and music. And yet another may be appointed to head up promoting the moral and ethical progress of the world.


After we have accepted our mission as a member of the human race and our mission as a member of our specific nation, then we will be we shown our individual mission. Until that time you should work at becoming a more decent human being and a better citizen of your nation. You get on the public highway when you fulfill G-d's commandments and then G-d will lead to your unique path.


Each and every one of us has a mission in life   —   a calling. The thing you have to always remember is "Who" is calling. G-d is calling you to be His agent on earth, and the mission He is asking you to fulfill is not only your mission but G-d's mission.

IN SUMMARY
The commandments of the Torah are not just a bunch of good deeds to do. They are not simply instructions for living. They are much more than that. They articulate a lofty Divine mission. Our chief qualification for this great mission is our potential to fail and our potential to do evil. This is because our mission is to grow. Our mission is to overcome our failings, choose goodness and grow on behalf of G-d. Every one of His commandments empowers us to fix ourselves, our community and this world for G-d's sake.


Unfortunate is the person who thinks he or she doesn't have a mission in life. Nietzsche, the German philosopher famous for saying that G-d is dead, ironically insisted that "unless a person feels that some infinite whole is working through him, his life has no meaning."


That "infinite whole" is G-d and every one of His commandments is an opportunity to experience the profound meaning of service. Our mission in life is our meaning in life.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in uplifting articles. Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

To comment, please click here.


JUST RELEASED! Rabbi Aaron's latest!
The Secret Life of G-d  

You've been inspired by our master teacher's weekly column. He's provocative. He makes you think. You should consider purchasing his books. Sales help fund JWR.


JWR contributor Rabbi David Aaron is the founder and dean of Isralight, an international organization with programming in Israel, New York South Florida, Philadelphia, Los Angeles and Toronto. He has taught and inspired thousands of Jews who are seeking meaning in their lives and a positive connection to their Jewish roots.

He is the author of the newly released, The Secret Life of G-d, and also the author of Endless Light: The Ancient Path of Kabbalah to Love, Spiritual Growth and Personal Power , Seeing G-d and Love is my religion. (Click on links to purchase books. Sales help fund JWR.) He lives in the old City of Jerusalem with his wife and their seven children.



© 2005, Rabbi David Aaron