Home
In this issue

Jonathan Tobin: Defending the Right to a Jewish State

Heather Hale: Compliment your kids without giving them big heads

Megan Shauri: 10 ways you are ruining your own happiness

Carolyn Bigda: 8 Best Dividend Stocks for 2015

Kiplinger's Personal Finance editors: 7 Things You Didn't Know About Paying Off Student Loans

Samantha Olson: The Crucial Mistake 55% Of Parents Are Making At Their Baby's Bedtime

Densie Well, Ph.D., R.D. Open your eyes to yellow vegetables

The Kosher Gourmet by Megan Gordon With its colorful cache of purples and oranges and reds, COLLARD GREEN SLAW is a marvelous mood booster --- not to mention just downright delish
April 18, 2014

Rabbi Yonason Goldson: Clarifying one of the greatest philosophical conundrums in theology

Caroline B. Glick: The disappearance of US will

Megan Wallgren: 10 things I've learned from my teenagers

Lizette Borreli: Green Tea Boosts Brain Power, May Help Treat Dementia

John Ericson: Trying hard to be 'positive' but never succeeding? Blame Your Brain

The Kosher Gourmet by Julie Rothman Almondy, flourless torta del re (Italian king's cake), has royal roots, is simple to make, . . . but devour it because it's simply delicious

April 14, 2014

Rabbi Dr Naftali Brawer: Passover frees us from the tyranny of time

Greg Crosby: Passing Over Religion

Eric Schulzke: First degree: How America really recovered from a murder epidemic

Georgia Lee: When love is not enough: Teaching your kids about the realities of adult relationships

Cameron Huddleston: Freebies for Your Lawn and Garden

Gordon Pape: How you can tell if your financial adviser is setting you up for potential ruin

Dana Dovey: Up to 500,000 people die each year from hepatitis C-related liver disease. New Treatment Has Over 90% Success Rate

Justin Caba: Eating Watermelon Can Help Control High Blood Pressure

The Kosher Gourmet by Joshua E. London and Lou Marmon Don't dare pass over these Pesach picks for Manischewitz!

April 11, 2014

Rabbi Hillel Goldberg: Silence is much more than golden

Caroline B. Glick: Forgetting freedom at Passover

Susan Swann: How to value a child for who he is, not just what he does

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Financial Tasks You Should Tackle Right Now

Sandra Block and Lisa Gerstner: How to Profit From Your Passion

Susan Scutti: A Simple Blood Test Might Soon Diagnose Cancer

Chris Weller: Have A Slow Metabolism? Let Science Speed It Up For You

The Kosher Gourmet by Diane Rossen Worthington Whitefish Terrine: A French take on gefilte fish

April 9, 2014

Jonathan Tobin: Why Did Kerry Lie About Israeli Blame?

Samuel G. Freedman: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Jessica Ivins: A resolution 70 years later for a father's unsettling legacy of ashes from Dachau

Kim Giles: Asking for help is not weakness

Kathy Kristof and Barbara Hoch Marcus: 7 Great Growth Israeli Stocks

Matthew Mientka: How Beans, Peas, And Chickpeas Cleanse Bad Cholesterol and Lowers Risk of Heart Disease

Sabrina Bachai: 5 At-Home Treatments For Headaches

The Kosher Gourmet by Daniel Neman Have yourself a matzo ball: The secrets bubby never told you and recipes she could have never imagined

April 8, 2014

Lori Nawyn: At Your Wit's End and Back: Finding Peace

Susan B. Garland and Rachel L. Sheedy: Strategies Married Couples Can Use to Boost Benefits

David Muhlbaum: Smart Tax Deductions Non-Itemizers Can Claim

Jill Weisenberger, M.S., R.D.N., C.D.E : Before You Lose Your Mental Edge

Dana Dovey: Coffee Drinkers Rejoice! Your Cup Of Joe Can Prevent Death From Liver Disease

Chris Weller: Electric 'Thinking Cap' Puts Your Brain Power Into High Gear

The Kosher Gourmet by Marlene Parrish A gift of hazelnuts keeps giving --- for a variety of nutty recipes: Entree, side, soup, dessert

April 4, 2014

Rabbi David Gutterman: The Word for Nothing Means Everything

Charles Krauthammer: Kerry's folly, Chapter 3

Amy Peterson: A life of love: How to build lasting relationships with your children

John Ericson: Older Women: Save Your Heart, Prevent Stroke Don't Drink Diet

John Ericson: Why 50 million Americans will still have spring allergies after taking meds

Cameron Huddleston: Best and Worst Buys of April 2014

Stacy Rapacon: Great Mutual Funds for Young Investors

Sarah Boesveld: Teacher keeps promise to mail thousands of former students letters written by their past selves

The Kosher Gourmet by Sharon Thompson Anyone can make a salad, you say. But can they make a great salad? (SECRETS, TESTED TECHNIQUES + 4 RECIPES, INCLUDING DRESSINGS)

April 2, 2014

Paul Greenberg: Death and joy in the spring

Dan Barry: Should South Carolina Jews be forced to maintain this chimney built by Germans serving the Nazis?

Mayra Bitsko: Save me! An alien took over my child's personality

Frank Clayton: Get happy: 20 scientifically proven happiness activities

Susan Scutti: It's Genetic! Obesity and the 'Carb Breakdown' Gene

Lecia Bushak: Why Hand Sanitizer May Actually Harm Your Health

Stacy Rapacon: Great Funds You Can Own for $500 or Less

Cameron Huddleston: 7 Ways to Save on Home Decor

The Kosher Gourmet by Steve Petusevsky Exploring ingredients as edible-stuffed containers (TWO RECIPES + TIPS & TECHINQUES)

Jewish World Review Jan. 14, 2005 / 4 Shevat, 5765

The Miraculous Power of Love

By Rabbi David Aaron


Printer Friendly Version
Email this article


There's but one obstacle that can stand in the way of the Divine's affection



http://www.JewishWorldReview.com | The first of the Ten Commandments is: "I am YHVH your G-d Who took you out of Egypt, out of the house of bondage." The Zohar, the magnum corpus of Jewish mysticism, explains: "This is the foundation and the root of Torah, all the commandments, and the complete faith of Israel".


Thus, the Exodus is the seminal event of the Jewish calendar and of daily Jewish consciousness.


Although the obvious theme of the holiday is freedom it is commonly referred to as Passover. Wouldn't "the Holiday of Freedom" or the "Exodus" be more appropriate? Jewish tradition teaches that it is so named because G-d passed over the houses of the Jews when He caused the death of the first born of the Egyptians during the tenth plague. This disturbing image of G-d, hopping and skipping over the Jews' homes, is also hinted at in the Song of Songs, which is read on Passover: "Behold the voice of my Beloved comes skipping over mountains, hopping over valleys."


Indeed, the oral tradition emphasizes that it was G-d Himself who was skipping. The Jerusalem Talmud establishes that G-d personally came to redeem Israel, He did not send an agent. A verse in Exodus reads, "I will perform judgment—I am YHVH." The foremost Torah commentator, Rashi, from the eleventh century explains that G-d is assuring them that "I Myself and not an agent" will deliver you from your oppression and enslavement. Couldn't G-d have simply decreed the death of the first-born without all this skipping around? What is the significance of His personal involvement?


It is common knowledge that the Jews in Egypt deteriorated to the 49th level of spiritual impurity and moral decadence. Our sages tell us that G-d saved them just before they fell to the last level, the fiftieth, which is total spiritual suicide and obliteration. In other words, the Jews were actually unworthy of liberation. So why did G-d free them nonetheless?


A careful reading of the Exodus story shows that the predominant message of the liberation of the Jews is the revelation of the profound truth of "I am YHVH."


We know that each Divine name indicates a different encounter with G-d, revealing different attributes and perspectives of the Divine truth and our relationship to G-d.

Donate to JWR


Elokim is G-d revealed as the Creator of nature, borders, rules, principles, and regulations. This is the name that appears throughout the creation story. In addition, this name refers to G-d when He is revealed as a Judge, committed to laws, order, justice, consequences, cause and effect. G-d, as Elokim, responds measure for measure to the choices and deeds of people. Therefore, G-d as Elokim cannot save the Jews, because they don't deserve it. However, G-d is not only referred to as Elokim, but also as YHVH. This divine name is mentioned when G-d is revealing His compassion. It indicates that G-d is not only a Creator, a Ruler, and a Judge, but also a compassionate Sustainer. He lovingly extends and shares His being with us, perpetuating our existence at every moment. We do not exist independently of YHVH, rather we are unified with Him as the rays of the sun are to the sun or the thought is to the thinker. Therefore, YHVH suggests that G-d is like a compassionate parent and we are His children.


G-d as Elokim is committed to the laws of nature and only works within the limitations of time and space. Therefore, G-d as Elokim could not liberate the Jews from Egypt.


G-d as YHVH, however, is beyond nature. He is the miracle worker Who, in the name of love, can transcend time and space and perform supernatural feats.


Indeed the exodus of the Jews was miraculous. The Egyptian military security was so tight that no slave had ever succeeded in escaping Pharaoh's captivity. And yet the entire nation of three million people left Egypt in less time than it takes for bread dough to rise. To mobilize my own family to leave the house takes longer than that. G-d, however, not only suspended the laws of nature, He also suspended the laws of justice. This perhaps is the greatest miracle in the exodus story -- that even though the Jews were undeserving and unworthy to be liberated by G-d as Elokim, they were nonetheless saved by G-d as YHVH.


Judaism teaches that the essential name of G-d is YHVH, and that the essential attribute of G-d is love and compassion. This basic truth is embodied in the Exodus story and therefore we must remember the exodus daily.


The name Elokim, however, is really only an aspect of the name YHVH. In other words, the divine attribute of justice is an aspect of the attribute of love and subordinate to it.


Such is the way of true parenthood: because of my love for my child I establish for her rules and regulations. I create a world of law and order where her choices incur real consequences. I judge her, reward her and discipline her, all for the sake of empowering her to take responsibility and become who she can be. However, since my judgment is because of my love and thereby subordinate to it, there may be times when I will be compassionate towards my child even though she does not deserve it. I will "pass over" my standards of judgment and be compassionate, in order to save my child. I will overrule my rules in the name of love.


This is the meaning of the verse in the Song of Songs; "Behold the voice of my beloved comes skipping over the mountains, hopping over the valleys." Nothing can stand in the way of G-d's love for you. No obstacle is too great. His love transcends all barriers.


This is the inner dynamic of this miraculous event and this is one reason why this holiday is commonly referred to as Passover. G-d, in order to pass over the homes of the Jews, passed over His attribute of judgment in the name of love. The Zohar teaches: "Even though G-d loves justice, His love for His children overcame His love for His justice."


One more vital point needs elucidation: Why did G-d require the Jews to sacrifice the Pascal lamb and smear its blood on their door-posts? Did G-d really need this sign to identify Jewish homes and pass over them?


There really is one obstacle that can stand in the way of G-d's love. G-d can love us, but He can't make us believe that he loves us. A poignant passage in Isaiah portrays this impasse. The Prophet is defending the people, claiming that they are sinning because G-d is not present for them. G-d responds [Isaiah 65:1]: "I was ready to be sought by those who did not ask for Me. I was ready to be found by those who did not seek Me. I said 'Here I am, here I am.'"


G-d may pour upon us all His love, but it is up to us to acknowledge and accept it. We have to make some overture, some sign, which is what smearing the blood on the door-posts was all about. G-d did not need an identifying sign, but we had to identify ourselves as wanting redemption and believing it can happen. G-d says to the Jews, "Nothing can stand in the way of My love for you, except you."


Passover is the time to experience and acknowledge G-d's unconditional love for you. That's why it is the foundation of all the holidays, of all of Judaism. Without the acknowledgment that G-d loves you enough to redeem you even when you're not worthy, you have no inkling of G-d's relationship with you. That's why we read the great love poem, the Song of Songs, on Passover. That's why we spend hours reciting the Hagaddah, like an enamored lover describing every minute detail of how her beloved proposed to her.


The more we acknowledge G-d's love, the more love we will experience.

Every weekday JewishWorldReview.com publishes what many in uplifting articles. Sign up for the daily JWR update. It's free. Just click here.

To comment, please click here.


JUST RELEASED! Rabbi Aaron's latest!
The Secret Life of G-d  

You've been inspired by our master teacher's weekly column. He's provocative. He makes you think. You should consider purchasing his books. Sales help fund JWR.


JWR contributor Rabbi David Aaron is the founder and dean of Isralight, an international organization with programming in Israel, New York South Florida, Philadelphia, Los Angeles and Toronto. He has taught and inspired thousands of Jews who are seeking meaning in their lives and a positive connection to their Jewish roots.

He is the author of the newly released, The Secret Life of G-d, and also the author of Endless Light: The Ancient Path of Kabbalah to Love, Spiritual Growth and Personal Power , Seeing G-d and Love is my religion. (Click on links to purchase books. Sales help fund JWR.) He lives in the old City of Jerusalem with his wife and their seven children.



© 2004, Rabbi David Aaron